Zahara steals the show at Samas

South Africa's newest singing sensation Zahara has cleaned up at the 18th annual South African Music Awards, walking away with eight trophies.

South Africa’s latest singing sensation Zahara cleaned up at the 18th annual South African Music Awards, walking away with eight trophies.

The Eastern Cape singer, overwhelmed by the accolades, opened the evening with her hit song Loliwe.

Another big winner and a crowd favourite was the new soulful house group, Mi Casa, whose performance of These Streets had everyone on their feet.

The two-day event kicked off on Sunday with the non-broadcasting show which focused on technical excellence and sales. Lifetime achievement awards were given to Ray Phiri and Vusi Mahlasela who sang an acoustic duet of Bright Blue’s hit, Weeping.

Other winners for the evening were:

Best Producer
Dan Roberts—Six Winters by Laurie Levine

Best Engineer
Johan van der Colff—Loliwe by Zahara

Best Video of the Year
Ryan Peimer—It’s Magic by The Parlotones

Best Live DVD
Simphiwe Dana—An Evening with Simphiwe Dana (Live in Concert)

Remix of the Year
DJ Sbu—Lengoma featuring Zahara

Best Selling True—Tone Download of the Year
DJ Cleo—Facebook

Best Selling Ring—Back—Tone of the Year
DJ Cleo—Facebook

Best Selling Full—Track Download of the Year

SAMPRA Most Played Song on South African Radio in 2011

Winners at the live broadcast:

Best Alternative Album
The Dirty Skirts—Lost In The Fall

Best Kiddies Album
Wendy Oldfield—Singalong Kidz Volume 2

Best Smooth Urban Music Album

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album
The Plain Truth—We Are The Shining Ones

Best Classical and Instrumental Album

Best Collaboration
Zahara featuring Georgy—Incwad’Encane

Best Jazz Album
Jimmy Dludlu—Tonota

Best Pop Album
Lloyd Cele—One

Best African Adult Album
Zonke—Ina Ethe

Best Rock Album
Shadowclub—Guns and Money

Best Traditional Music Album
Soul Brothers—Amaphutha

Best Traditional Faith Music Album
Solly Mahlangu—Mwamba Mwamba

Best Street Urban Music Album
AKA—Altar Ego

Best Sokkie Dans Album
Snotkop—Ek Laaik Van Jol

Best Adult Contemporary Album
Elvis Blue for Elvis Blue (2CD Special Edition)

Best Maskandi Album
Thokozani Langa—Protection Order

Best Kwaito Album
Big Nuz for Pound—Pound

Best Dance Album
Mi Casa—Mi Casa Music

Special Award: Best Selling Album

Special Award: MTN Best Selling Mobile Music Download
DJ Cleo—Facebook

Newcomer of the Year

Duo/Group of the Year
Mi Casa—Mi Casa Music

Male Artist of the Year
AKA—Altar Ego

Female Artist of the Year

MTN Record of the Year
Mi Casa— These Streets

Album of the Year

Topics In This Story


blog comments powered by Disqus

Client Media Releases

The top 5 myths about business travel
How to prepare for matric exams using past papers
Ben Kelly appointed ITWeb Brainstorm editor
Sanral investment in the country's youth to increase