Quigg takes down SA boxer Munyai to retain WBA title


SA's Tshifiwa Munyai has been beaten by Scott Quigg. The referee stopped the contest in round two when the South African was dropped to the canvas.

Boxers Tshifiwa Munyai (left) and Sipho Taliwe at a press conference at Emperors Palace in Johannesburg, in 2011. (Gallo)

Britain's Scott Quigg retained his World Boxing Association (WBA) super-bantamweight title with a second-round stoppage of South Africa's Tshifiwa Munyai in Manchester on Saturday.

Fighting in front of what was effect a home-town crowd, the 25-year-old from nearby Bury dropped Munyai to the canvas in the first round and in the second, referee Howard Foster stopped the contest when the challenger was again knocked to the floor.

Victory saw Quigg, who extended his unbeaten professional record to 30 fights, closer to a domestic showdown with another undefeated boxer in Belfast's Carl Frampton.

"I wanted to make a statement," Quigg told Sky Sports after making short work of Munyai.

"I said I wanted to show the best of Scott Quigg and that's what I had to do and no-one's ever done that to Munyai.

"I've gone in there and demolished him. It was a calculated start – but we nailed it down beforehand and did what we had to." – AFP

post a comment

Topics In This Section


blog comments powered by Disqus