/ 28 April 2004

NNP, Azapo leaders in new cabinet

The leaders of the New National Party and Azanian People’s Organisation got senior posts in the new cabinet unveiled by President Thabo Mbeki on Wednesday.

New National Party leader Marthinus van Schalkwyk becomes Minister of Environmental Affairs and Tourism while Azanian People’s Organisation leader Mosibudi Mangena got the portfolio of Science and Technology.

Inkatha Freedom Party leader and former Home Affairs Minister Mangosuthu Buthelezi was axed from the list.

The key portfolio of Justice and Constitutional Development was given to former Housing Minister Brigitte Mabandla, that of Correctional Services to former Sports Minister Ngconde Balfour, and Public Enterprises to former Trade and Industry Minister Alec Erwin.

Buthelezi’s old portfolio went to his former deputy, Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula.

Other new appointments included senior African National Congress member Pallo Jordan (Arts and Culture), Naledi Pandor (Education), Lindiwe Sisulu (Housing), Ronnie Kasrils (Intelligence), Makenkesi Stofile (Sport and Recreation) and Mandisi Mpahlwa (Trade and Industry).

Former Public Enterprises Minister Jeff Radebe replaces Dullah Omar, who died of cancer earlier this year, as Transport Minister, while Water Affairs and Forestry is taken over by former deputy arts, culture, science and technology minister Buyelwa Sonjica.

Former Northern Cape premier Manne Dipico becomes the president’s parliamentary counsellor.

Mbeki said his new cabinet has three additional women ministers, and two extra in deputy ministerial portfolios.

He declined to discuss the merits of his appointments, “but they are all excellent”.

The president said he had decided to split the deputy ministry of arts and culture from science and technology, and announced the appointments of Ntombazana Botha and Derek Hanekom (former Land Affairs Minister) respectively.

He also announced the creation of the post for an additional deputy foreign affairs minister — Sue van der Merwe — to assist Aziz Pahad.

Mbeki replaced Kader Asmal as education minister following a request from Asmal to retire, he said.

The Cabinet comprised 16 male ministers and 12 female, 11 male deputy ministers and 10 women — giving a total of 27 men and 22 women. – Sapa

Deputy President, Mr Jacob Zuma

Ministers and Deputy Ministers

Agriculture & Land Affairs Minister Ms Thoko Didiza

Deputy Minister Prof Dirk du Toit

Arts & Culture Minister Mr Pallo Jordan

Deputy Minister Ms Ntombazana Botha

Communications Minister Dr Ivy Matsepe-Casaburri

Deputy Minister Mr Radhakrishna “Roy” Padayachee

Correctional Services Minister Mr Ngconde Balfour

Deputy Minister Ms Cheryl Gillwald

Defence Minister Mr Mosiuoa Lekota

Deputy Minister Mr Mluleki George

Education Minister Ms Naledi Pandor

Deputy Minister Mr Enver Surty

Environmental Affairs & Tourism Minister Marthinus van Schalkwyk

Deputy Minister Ms Joyce Mabudafhasi

Finance Minister Mr Trevor Manuel

Deputy Minister Mr Jabu Moleketi

Foreign Affairs Minister Dr Nkosana Dlamini Zuma

Deputy Minister Mr Aziz Pahad

Deputy Minister Ms Sue van der Merwe

Health Minister Dr Manto Tshabalala- Msimang

Deputy Minister Ms Nozizwe Madlala-Routledge

Home Affairs Minister Ms Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula

Deputy Minister Malusi Gigaba

Housing Minister Ms Lindiwe Sisulu

Intelligence Minister Mr Ronnie Kasrils

Justice & Constitutional Development Minister Ms Bridgette Madandla

Deputy Minister Mr Johnny De Lange

Labour Minister Mr Membathisi Mdladlana

Minerals and Energy Minister Ms Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka

Deputy Minister Lulu Xingwana

Provincial & Local Government Minister Mr Sydney Mufamadi

Deputy Minister Nomatyala Hangana

Public Enterprises Minister Mr Alec Erwin

Public Service & Administration Minister Ms Geraldine Fraser-Moleketi

Public Works Minister Ms Stella Sigcau

Deputy Minister Rev Musa Zondi

Safety and Security Minister Mr Charls Nqakula

Deputy Minister Ms Susan Shabange

Science & Technology Minister Mr Mosibudi Mangena

Deputy Minister Mr Derek Hanekom

Social Development Minister Dr Zola Skweyiya

Deputy Minister Ms Jean Benjamin

Sport and Recreation Minister Mr . Mankenkisi Stofile

Deputy Minister Mr Vincent Ngema

The Presidency Minister Dr Essop Pahad

Trade and Industry Minister Mr Mandisi Mpahlwa

Deputy Minister Ms Lindi Hen Dricks

Transport Minister Mr Jeff Hadebe

Water Affairs & Forestry Minister Ms Buyi Sonjica