Three injured Boks withdraw from tour

Forwards Danie Rossouw, Wickus van Heerden and Gurthro Steenkamp withdrew injured on Monday from South Africa’s short rugby tour of Britain.

Star scrumhalf Fourie du Preez also looks like staying home and missing the Test against Wales at Cardiff on November 24 and the celebration match with the Barbarians at Twickenham on December 1.

Loose forwards Rossouw and Van Heerden had neck injuries and were replaced by the Blue Bulls’ Hilton Lobberts and the Sharks’ Ryan Kankowski when the squad assembled on Monday, said

Steenkamp, another starter from South Africa’s World Cup final victory last month, cut his hand and had his position filled by Wian du Preez of Currie Cup champions the Cheetahs.

Fourie du Preez, who was married on Saturday, wants to have an operation on the shoulder he hurt in the Super 14, to try to be fully healed before the next Super 14 beginning in February.

Chairperson of selectors Peter Jooste said they may not replace Fourie du Preez as they already have two scrumhalves in the squad in Ricky Januarie and Ruan Pienaar.

The latest changes, following last week’s withdrawal of fullback Percy Montgomery with a sore knee, mean uncapped Lions prop Heinke van der Merwe is in line to make his test debut against Wales.

Van der Merwe travelled with the second-string Springboks to Australia and New Zealand in the Tri-Nations but didn’t play. Kankowski, as the only specialist number eight in the touring squad, also could play his first Test.

Meanwhile, captain John Smit will not be released by his new French club, Clermont Auvergne, for the Barbarians game. — Sapa-AP

South Africa

Forwards: Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Wian du Preez, Ryan Kankowski, Hilton Lobberts, Victor Matfield, Johann Muller, John Smit (captain), Juan Smith, Albert van den Berg, CJ van der Linde, Heinke van der Merwe.

Backs: Fourie du Preez, Jaque Fourie, Bryan Habana, Conrad Jantjes, Ricky Januarie, Wayne Julies, Akona Ndungane, Wynand Olivier, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Andre Pretorius, Francois Steyn.

Keep the powerful accountable

Subscribe for R30/mth for the first three months. Cancel anytime.

Subscribers get access to all our best journalism, subscriber-only newsletters, events and a weekly cryptic crossword.

Related stories


Already a subscriber? Sign in here


Latest stories

International whistleblower awards honour four South Africans

Babita Deokaran, Thabiso Zulu, Francois van der Westhuizen and Pieter Snyders received international recognition at awards hosted by the Blueprint for Free Speech

July unrest proves sparks of social unrest pose a risk...

Third quarter GDP numbers have interrupted a four quarter economic growth streak because of the July unrest.

Zimbabweans living in South Africa might not be able to...

According to the government’s latest Covid-19 guidelines, anyone coming into Zimbabwe must quarantine in a hotel for 10 days — at their own expense

Fraud case just one example of governance failings at Basketball...

The sport body’s former national administrator allegedly stole money by substituting his own bank account details for a service provider’s

press releases

Loading latest Press Releases…