/ 27 March 2009

Serena Williams voted player of the year

Serena Williams was voted the World Tennis Association (WTA) Tour player of the year for the second time on Thursday.

Williams also received the award for 2002. She won the US Open in September and ended last year ranked No 1.

Dinara Safina was selected most improved player for 2008, and Zheng Jie of China was chosen comeback player of the year. Top-ranked Cara Black of Zimbabwe and Liezel Huber of the United States were chosen doubles team of the year for the second time.

Caroline Wozniacki of Denmark was selected newcomer of the year. Ana Ivanovic was chosen humanitarian of the year for her work and contributions to Unicef, and Elena Dementieva was honoured with the Karen Krantzcke sportsmanship award.

Williams was the only winner not to attend a ceremony at the Sony Ericsson Open to honour the award winners.

”Winning the player of the year award for the second time in my career is a great personal achievement,” Williams said in a statement.

”I feel great about my game and hope to win many more player of the year titles in the years to come.” — Sapa-AP