Louis Oosthuizen: Woods should have been disqualified

Louis Oosthuizen tees off on the second hole during the second round of the 2013 Masters Tournament at Augusta National Golf Club. (AFP)

Louis Oosthuizen tees off on the second hole during the second round of the 2013 Masters Tournament at Augusta National Golf Club. (AFP)

The world No 7 will be the highest-ranked player teeing off on Thursday in the $2.8-million Ballantine's Championship in South Korea, the golf-crazy country's only European Tour contest.

Asked about the Woods incident at a pre-tournament press conference, Oosthuizen said he was with those who felt the 14-time Major champion should not have been allowed to finish the tournament in Augusta.

After hitting the flagstick and seeing his ball roll into a water hazard at the 15th hole at Augusta, Woods dropped the ball two yards back from the original shot to avoid a similar risk on the next shot.

He was given a two-stroke penalty for an improper drop, but escaped disqualification for signing an incorrect score card after the competition committee invoked a rule for a player who "unknowingly" makes a penalty.

"He got the rule wrong in the way he dropped," Oosthuizen said. "I don't think he did it intentionally. But after signing the scorecard, it was definitely a DQ."

Some former and current players suggested Woods withdraw from the Masters, but he went on to complete the tournament.
– AFP

Client Media Releases

FutureLearn welcomes CBDO
Survey: Most Influential Brands in SA
ITWeb's GRC conference set for February 2019
Survey rejects one-sided views on e-tolls
Huawei forms partnerships to boost ICT skills development