Chiefs seal title in style

Goals from George Lebese, Bernard Parker and a second half brace from Matthew Rusike allowed Stuart Baxter’s men to stroll to the title with more than a quarter of the match remaining.

Rendani Ndou scored the visitors’ only goal of the contest.

This is the Amakhosi’s second title in three years after capturing the crown in the 2012/2013 season.

PSL CEO congratulates Chiefs
The Premier Soccer League (PSL) chief executive, Brand de Villiers has congratulated Kaizer Chiefs.

The victory took Kaizer Chiefs to 63 points in the Absa Premiership log, meaning that there is no other club that can mathematically catch them this season.

De Villiers said: “We would like to congratulate 2014/15 Absa Premiership champions Kaizer Chiefs for a sterling performance this season. We would like to congratulate the club chairperson Kaizer Motaung, club management, coach Stuart Baxter, the players and the club supporters following their success in the Absa Premiership this season. Kaizer Chiefs have earned this achievement after leading the Absa Premiership long standings from day one of the 2014/15 campaign.”

De Villiers reiterated the position of the PSL and Absa regarding the Absa Premiership trophy handover. The trophy will be handed on the last day of the Absa Premiership season on May 9 2015 in Port Elizabeth. –

Subscribe to the M&G

These are unprecedented times, and the role of media to tell and record the story of South Africa as it develops is more important than ever.

The Mail & Guardian is a proud news publisher with roots stretching back 35 years, and we’ve survived right from day one thanks to the support of readers who value fiercely independent journalism that is beholden to no-one. To help us continue for another 35 future years with the same proud values, please consider taking out a subscription.

Related stories


press releases

Loading latest Press Releases…

The best local and international journalism

handpicked and in your inbox every weekday