ANC bids farewell to Ramatlhodi, a minister who 'served with distinction'

Ngoako Ramatlhodi (right) and Tina Joemat-Pettersson have both resigned as ANC MPs. (Madelene Cronje, M&G)

Ngoako Ramatlhodi (right) and Tina Joemat-Pettersson have both resigned as ANC MPs. (Madelene Cronje, M&G)

Former public service and administration minister Ngoako Ramatlhodi served with distinction and dedication, ANC chief whip Jackson Mthembu said on Wednesday.

Echoing the same message he issued when the first three axed Cabinet members resigned from Parliament, Mthembu wished Ramatlhodi well in his endeavours.

The ANC thanked Ramatlhodi for his selfless service to the movement and was confident he would continue to serve the movement in other capacities. Mthembu had said the same to Dipuo Peters, Tina Joemat-Pettersson, and Mcebisi Jonas.

The only former Cabinet ministers who have not resigned from Parliament after President Jacob Zuma removed them from their portfolios on March 30 are former finance minister Pravin Gordhan and former tourism minister Derek Hanekom.

Mthembu added: “Comrade Ramatlhodi has expressed his gratitude to the people of South Africa, the leadership and membership of the ANC, as well as colleagues in Parliament for the confidence they have bestowed in him over the years of his membership in Parliament.”

After his removal from Cabinet in March, Ramatlhodi told News24 he wanted to focus on his golf and do a bit of writing. Government was not for him, he said at the time. - News24

Client Media Releases

Tips for investing in volatile surroundings
MTN SA, Huawei jointly launch CloudAIR 2.0
Imperial Logistics expands digitisation drive
Maponya law firm sponsors NWU students
How SA views the British royal family
PSG's FutureLearn acquires Media Works
More fences erected on busy freeways
Is your rental car watching you?