Simphiwe Dana shines at SA Music Awards

In 2005, she was named best newcomer, and on Saturday, Simphiwe Dana made good on that promise by walking away with four awards at the 13th annual South African Music Awards (Samas).

Dana was named best female artist and her album The One Love Movement on Bantu Biko Street was chosen as album of the year. The album also won best contemporary jazz album and best vocal jazz album.

Siphokazi, an Afro-soul recording artist, took home the best newcomer award for her album Ubuntu Bam, which was also named the best adult contemporary album in the African section.

Vusi Mahlasela was awarded the best male artist Sama for Naledi ya Tsela and Lloyd Ross won best engineer for his work on the album.

Mafikizolo won best African pop album as well as the award for the best compilation DVD.

Kabelo, who presented the awards, also won for Exodus in the category for best kwaito album. Best rap album went to Flabba for Nkuli vs Flabba.

Cassette performed at the event and their album Welcome Back to Earth was named as the best English rock album. Best English pop album went to multi-Sama-winner Danny K for his This Is My Time, while newcomer Lesego earned the best urban pop album accolade for his release Mymusic.

Eden triumphed in the category for best Afrikaans pop category with their self-titled release. Another winner in the now-expanded Afrikaans music categories was Kurt Darren, whose Lekker Lekker saw him win the Sama for best Afrikaans dance album.

There was huge appreciation from the audience in the Sun City Superbowl when last year’s best-selling album winner, Shwi Nomtekhala, won the Sama for best maskanda album. Another multi-Sama-winner was Rebecca, with the gospel artist taking home another award—this time for best urban gospel for Umthombo.

Lira’s Feel Good was named best music video, earning director Lara Hollis a well-deserved accolade.

DJ Cleo won in the closely watched category for best urban dance album with Eskhaleni Zone 3. One of DJ Cleo’s competitors in the category, DJ Sbu, closed the award ceremony with Remember When It Rains, which was chosen as the song of the year.

Winners list

Best female artist

Simphiwe Dana—The One Love Movement on Bantu Biko Street

Best male artist

Vusi Mahlasela—Naledi Ya Tsela

Best duo/group

Mafikizolo—Six Mabone

Best newcomer

Siphokazi—Ubuntu Bam

Album of the year

Simphiwe Dana—The One Love Movement on Bantu Biko Street

Best traditional Afrikaans music album

Klipwerf Orkes—Hantam Kwela

Best Tsonga music (XiTsonga) album

MD Shirinda—Gama Ra Nsele

Best Mbhaqanga album

Bhekumuzi Luthuli—Inkinga Ngu R7

Best Maskandi album

Shwi No Mtekhala—Angimazi UBaba

Best traditional accapella album

Colenso Abafana Benkokhelo—Induku

Best instrumental album

Paul Hanmer—Accused No.1 Nelson Mandela

Best contemporary jazz album

Simphiwe Dana—The One Love Movement on Bantu Biko Street

Best instrumental jazz album

Bheki Khoza—Getting To Heaven Alive

Best vocal jazz album

Simphiwe Dana—The One Love Movement on Bantu Biko Street

Best English adult contemporary album

Johnny Clegg—One Life

Best Afrikaans adult contemporary album

Chris Chameleon—7de Hemel

Best African adult contemporary album

Siphokazi—Ubuntu Bam

Best urban gospel album

Redeemed—Live in Soweto

Best African contemporary gospel album

Rebecca - Umthombo

Best african traditional gospel album

Jabu & Sipho—Send your Fire

Best traditional African accapella gospel album

Thulani Manana - Impi Kasathane

Best pop/rock gospel album


Best Afrikaans kiddies album

Steve Hofmeyr—Laaities & Ladies

Best country music album

Fredi Nest—Hey DJ

Best English rock album

Cassette—Welcome Back to Earth

Best Afrikaans rock album


Best alternative music album


Best English pop album

Danny K—This is my Time

Best Afrikaans pop album


Best African pop album

Mafikizolo—Six Mabone

Best urban pop album


Best Afrikaans dance album

Kurt Darren - Lekker Lekker

Best urban dance album

Dj Cleo—Eskhaleni Zone 3

Best R&B/Soul album

Claire Phillips—Say my Name

Best rap album

Flabba—Nkuli vs Flabba

Best kwaito album


Best music video

Lara Hollis—Lira - Feel Good

Best live DVD

Soweto Gospel Choir—Blessed Live in Concert

Best compilation DVD

Mafikizolo—The Hits

Best producer

Moreira Chonguica and Mark Fransmar (The Moreira Project—The Journey Volume 1)

Best engineer

Lloyd Ross (Vusi Mahlasela—Naledi Ya Tsela)

Song of the year

DJ Sbu—Remember When It Rained

Client Media Releases

UKZN scientists get L'Or'eal-UNESCO Women in Science grants
Springbok-mania hits MTN head office
Optimise your SMS campaigns this Black Friday
ContinuitySA wins IRMSA Award with Resilience 2.0