/ 2 October 2007

New name for North West municipality

The Southern District municipality in the North West would be named after the former Zambian president Dr Kenneth Kaunda, the municipality said on Tuesday.

The council passed a resolution on the new name at its meeting on Monday, mayor Boitumelo Moloi said.

Moloi said Kaunda’s name had received more votes than the other submissions during the public participation process.

She said a committee made up of members from political parties within the municipality was established to call for the submission of and objection to names.

Two other names — Kopanong and Tshwaraganang -‒ were submitted to the committee.

Moloi said Dr Kaunda had played a role in the liberation of most African states, including South Africa.

The Democratic Alliance had expressed its objection during the council debate, saying that the name had nothing to do with South Africa, she said.

The Freedom Front Plus preferred to retain the name Southern District.

The new name would be forwarded to the North West provincial minister for local government, Howard Yawa, for consideration.

At the same time the Department of Foreign Affairs and the Zambian embassy would be notified.

Moloi said the municipality would also establish relationships with municipalities in Zambia which had similar characteristics.

The municipality was the first in the country to be named after a person who is not a South African.

The name change process started in August last year and a series of public consultative meetings took place across the entire district.

The Southern District consists of four local municipalities; the City of Tlokwe (formerly Potchefstroom) the City of Matlosana (formerly Klerksdorp) and the towns of Maquassi Hills (formerly Wolmaransstad) and Ventersdorp. – Sapa