SA Rugby name finalists in player of the year award

SA Rugby has confirmed the names of the finalists in the main categories of the 2007 Absa SA rugby player of the year awards. The awards banquet, which will be attended by the Springbok squad, takes place on November 7 at the Sandton Convention Centre.

The highlight of the evening will be the announcement of the Absa SA rugby player of the year for 2007.

Winners of the top award in recent years include Fourie du Preez, Bryan Habana, Schalk Burger, Ashwin Willemse, Joe van Niekerk, Andre Vos, Breyton Paulse and Andre Venter.

Leading the nominees for the 2007 prize are Bryan Habana, Victor Matfield, Fourie du Preez (who won in 2006), Juan Smith and Percy Montgomery.

Habana, the newly crowned IRB player of the year, was also nominated for the Vodacom Super 14 player of the tournament as well as the Supersport try of the year, where three of his tries are in contention for the prize.

The panel of judges is comprised of leading rugby journalists, a coaches’ representative and a representative of the South African Rugby Players’ Association.

The Absa players’ player of the year winner will also be announced at the event. Previous winners in this section include Os du Randt, John Smit and Kabamba Floors.

Judged separately, the Sasol Springbok media awards will honour print and internet journalists, photographers and TV presenters and commentators.
- Sapa

Client Media Releases

Tribute to Johnny Clegg - Doctor of Music (honoris causa)
VUT Vice-Chancellor addressed the Somali National University graduation ceremony
NWU summit focuses on human capital in Fourth Industrial Revolution