Get more Mail & Guardian
Subscribe or Login

Cape teams to face Soweto giants in Nedbank Cup

Premier Soccer League (PSL) log leaders Ajax Cape Town and the ever-improving Santos will face Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates respectively in the last-32 round of the inaugural Nedbank Cup.

The draw involving the Soweto clubs attracted loud applause from the crowd and there was also a huge roar of approval for the R6-million first prize. The announcement was made at Nedbank’s headquarters in Sandton on Monday night.

Chiefs will host the high-flying Ajax while Pirates, who were beaten by Santos just two days ago in a league match in Cape Town, will travel to the Mother City again for this knockout clash. Considering the recent form of the Cape teams, they are certainly favourites for these clashes.

”I’m happy that we have the home-ground advantage, said Santos COO Edries Burton. ”I was not hoping to face any specific team as I’m sure all the clubs involved are determined to make their mark in this competition, and home-ground advantage is definitely a benefit, so I’m pleased with that.

”[Drawing] Pirates after we beat them just seems peculiar but we’ll be ready for them,” the former Santos skipper said with a wry smile.

Another intriguing clash is SuperSport United taking on their city neighbours, Mamelodi Sundowns. SuperSport, like Ajax, are gunning for the league title while Sundowns are struggling to gain momentum in the league, and the United team can be considered favourites for this encounter.

In other clashes featuring PSL teams, Free State Stars host Platinum Stars and Golden Arrows welcome Jomo Cosmos to Durban. The dates set out for the Nedbank Cup last-32 matches are March 12, 14, 15 and 16.

The PSL cup committee will decide the exact times and dates for these clashes later this week.

The complete Nedbank Cup last-32 draw (home team mentioned first):

Mpumalanga Black Aces vs Thanda Royal Zulu

AmaZulu vs Young Ones

Yebo Yes United vs FC AK

Kaizer Chiefs vs Ajax Cape Town

FC Cape Town vs Durban Stars

Golden Arrows vs Jomo Cosmos

Matatiel Professionals vs Bloemfontein Young Tigers

SuperSport United vs Mamelodi Sundowns

Free State Stars vs Platinum Stars

Bidvest Wits vs Winners Park

Inspection FC vs Black Leopards

Santos vs Orlando Pirates

Nathi Lions vs North West Shining Stars

African Warriors vs Moroka Swallows

Ikapa Sporting FC vs Bloemfontein Celtic

Peace Lovers or Classic vs Vasco da Gama — Sapa

Subscribe for R500/year

Thanks for enjoying the Mail & Guardian, we’re proud of our 36 year history, throughout which we have delivered to readers the most important, unbiased stories in South Africa. Good journalism costs, though, and right from our very first edition we’ve relied on reader subscriptions to protect our independence.

Digital subscribers get access to all of our award-winning journalism, including premium features, as well as exclusive events, newsletters, webinars and the cryptic crossword. Click here to find out how to join them and get a 57% discount in your first year.

Related stories


If you’re reading this, you clearly have great taste

If you haven’t already, you can subscribe to the Mail & Guardian for less than the cost of a cup of coffee a week, and get more great reads.

Already a subscriber? Sign in here


Subscribers only

The Democratic Alliance and illiberal liberalism’s glass ceiling

The DA appears to have abandoned its ambitions of 2016 and is set to lose further ground in the upcoming elections

Canna-business deal for Ingonyama Trust land

Foreign investment has been lined up for a joint venture with the Ingonyama Trust Board, which administers tribal land for the Zulu monarch

More top stories

The Democratic Alliance and illiberal liberalism’s glass ceiling

The DA appears to have abandoned its ambitions of 2016 and is set to lose further ground in the upcoming elections

ANC Durban election candidate shot dead while on door-to-door campaign

One other man was shot dead and two others were rushed to hospital with gunshot wounds

Rule of law drops globally, including in South Africa

Security and corruption prevents the country from ranking higher on the World Justice Project Rule of Law Index for 2021

Slice of life: ‘I can read nine or 10 books...

David van der Westhuizen, a street bookseller based at the KwaZulu-Natal Society of the Arts Gallery in Durban, tells Paddy Harper how he survives unemployment

press releases

Loading latest Press Releases…