/ 23 April 2008

First SA athletes named for Beijing team

South African athletes will not be given specific targets for Beijing, but will aim to better previous records and enjoy the challenging experience of the Olympic Games, it was announced on Wednesday.

In the first of three team announcements for the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games, South African Sports Confederation and Olympics Committee (Sascoc) president Moss Mashishi said the committee’s message to the athletes is to improve on previous performances and do the best they can.

”Our preparations are on target and we will provide all the support they need to enable them to make us proud,” said Mashishi.

”We have avoided targets with specific numbers but hope to improve from one Olympic Games to the next. We encourage the athletes to do their very best without any undue pressure.”

The following athletes and officials who will form part of Team SA were announced at Olympic House in Johannesburg. The names of the medical support team were also announced.


Jenna Dreyer, Kathryn Meaklim, Melissa Corfe, Jessica Pengelly, Lize-Mari Retief, Amanda Loots, Wendy Trott, Suzaan van Biljon, Cameron van der Burgh, Darian Townsend, Gerhard Zandberg, George du Rand, Gideon Louw, Jean Basson, Lyndon Ferns, Neil Versfeld, Riaan Schoeman, Roland Schoeman, Ryk Neethling, Troyden Prinsloo, William Diering.


Calvin Hartley, Barbara Manning (manager/coach).


Jackson Chauke, Peter Armstrong (manager).


Robert Hunter, John-Lee Augustyn, David George, Burry Stander, Yolande Speedy, Tony Harding (manager/coach), Melvin Classen (mechanic), Leon Scheepers (coach).


Jyoti Chetty, Adele du Plooy, Elvira Wood, Michael Wood, Dario Torrente, Sello Maduma, Randall Daniels (coach), Guennadi Tyshler (coach).


Odette Richard, Maureen van Rooyen (manager/coach)


Penny Alison, Dominique Provoyeur, Kim Rew, Dayne Sharp (manager/coach).


Diane Swanton, Esmari van Reenen, Timothy Swanton (manager/coach).