New scoring system proposed for 2010 F1 season

Formula One’s governing body will decide on Friday whether to change next year’s scoring system so that the top 10 drivers can take points, with race winners collecting 25.

The International Automobile Federation (FIA) said in a statement on Thursday the proposal, made by the Formula One commission, would be put to its World Motor Sport Council for final approval.

It said the recommendation was due to the expansion of the starting grid to 13 teams in 2010 from 10 at present.

Under the new system, the race winner would get 25 points with 20 for second and 15 for third. The remaining points would be allocated 10-8-6-5-3-2-1.

The current format awards points to the top eight in a 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1 sequence.

Formula One will have four new teams next year after the withdrawal of Toyota and BMW, whose team will continue as Sauber.

The F1 Commission is made up of representatives of the teams, promoters, suppliers and sponsors. Thursday’s meeting was chaired by Formula One’s commercial supremo Bernie Ecclestone and also attended by new FIA president Jean Todt.

The FIA said the commission had also agreed to allow champions Brawn to change their name to Mercedes after the German carmaker’s takeover without loss of performance benefits and television revenue.

“The team will continue to receive payments based on its historical performance.
This has been granted on a one-off exceptional basis due to Mercedes-Benz’s long-term involvement and commitment to Formula One,” it added.—Reuters

Client Media Releases

NWU specialist receives innovation management award
Reduce packaging waste: Ipsos poll
What is transactional SMS?
MTN on data pricing