Press Club pleased with new SABC board

The National Press Club was pleased with the new South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) board and hoped its new chairperson cleaned up the public broadcaster, it said on Thursday.

“We congratulate Solly Mokoetle on his appointment as the new CEO of the SABC. We are pleased that this very important position has finally been filled,” said club chairperson Yusuf Abramjee in a statement.

“Mokoetle has an excellent track record. He is known to be a strong leader.

“We hope he cleans up the SABC without delay.
The public broadcaster has a very important role to fulfil and we wish Mokoetle and his team well.”

The club called for a “credible, independent” head of news and current affairs, and not a “political lackey” as this position had been tainted.

Urgent attention was needed for the company’s financial affairs too.

“The SABC has some very good employees. Those who have been draining the broadcaster financially through wrongdoing must be brought to book. We also hope that the SABC will bring in new credible and talented leaders.”

The 12 non-executive members as recommended by the National Assembly are: Cedric Sabelo Gina, Phillipa “Pippa” Green, Peter John Harris, Barbara Masekela, Magathe Mello, Nkotomane Motsepe, Baldwin “Ben’” Ngubane, David Niddrie, Clare O’Neil, Felleng Sekha, Suzanne Vos and Desmond Golding.

Ngubane is chairperson and Sekha deputy.—Sapa

Client Media Releases

Fempreneurs shine during EWP gala event
Might as well face it