Al-Attiyah takes Dakar Rally lead

Qatari driver Nasser al-Attiyah took the overall race lead after winning the eighth stage of the Dakar Rally on Monday, a 508km special on a 776km run from Antofagasta to Copiapo.

The Volkswagen driver, runner-up last year, finished six minutes, 36 seconds ahead of teammate and defending champion Carlos Sainz, from whom he takes the overall race lead.

Al-Attiyah—who also won Sunday’s stage—now leads the Spaniard by 5min 14sec in the overall standings.

In the motorcycle section, overall race leader Marc Coma of Spain rode to victory in the 508km special on a 776km run, finishing 1min 55sec ahead of French KTM teammate and defending champion Cyril Despres, who is second overall 9min 19sec behind the Spaniard.—Sapa-AFP


Client Media Releases

Property mogul honoured at NWU graduation
Intelligence is central to digital businesses
One of SA's biggest education providers has a new name: Meet PSG's Optimi
A million requests, a million problems solved