ICC confirms World Cup slashed to 10 teams

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday confirmed a controversial decision to slash the 2015 and 2019 World Cups to just 10 teams, despite widespread objections.

The world governing body endorsed the move at an executive board meeting in Mumbai, following Saturday’s thrilling World Cup final when India lifted the trophy after a tournament featuring 14 teams.

“The executive board confirmed their decision made in October 2010 that the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 in Australia and New Zealand and the ICC Cricket World Cup in England in 2019 will be a 10-team event,” a media release said.

The move comes despite support from prominent figures for “minnow” nations such as Ireland, Kenya, Canada and The Netherlands, all of who took part in the 2011 edition.

Ireland pulled off one of the shocks of the just-concluded tournament jointly hosted by India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka when they came from behind to beat England by three wickets in a thrilling group stage clash.

“I really enjoy seeing the minnow teams getting an opportunity to be honest,” Australia captain Michael Clarke said on Monday, echoing earlier comments by England spinner Graeme Swann.

“Why would you want to take the world out of the World Cup? Shocks can happen,” Swann told Wisden Cricket magazine.

Cricket Ireland set up a Facebook campaign against the decision, which the body’s chief executive, Warren Deutrom, called “frankly outrageous”.

“I cannot think of a decision which is less cognisant of the principles of sport and fair play than the one that has been taken today [Monday],” he said, in comments posted on the Irish Times website.

“It absolutely flies in the face of all the evidence that has been possible to accrue over the last four years as regards Ireland’s performances, not just in the World Cup in 2007 but also in this World Cup and the intervening four years.”

The decision means the 2015 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand will be contested by full ICC members: India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, England, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, West Indies and Zimbabwe.

The 2019 edition in England will also include 10 teams, but there will be a qualifying process.

The latest World Cup had been criticised for its length, after it stretched over six weeks from February 19 to April 2. — Sapa-AFP

Staff Reporter
Guest Author

Hlophe complaint is an eerie echo

But the new complaint against the Western Cape judge president is also unprecedented

Mabuza contract grows by R10m

Eskom’s negotiators in a R100-million maintenance contract came back with a proposal to push up the costs

‘There were no marks on his neck’, Neil Aggett inquest...

The trade unionist’s partner at the time he was detained at John Vorster Square says she now believes his death was not a suicide

Study unpacks the ‘hidden racism’ at Stellenbosch

Students say they feel unseen and unheard at the university because of their skin colour

Press Releases

Gender-based violence is an affront to our humanity

Gender-based violence is an affront to our humanity

UK-Africa investment summit 2020: Think Africa Invest SA

UK-Africa investment summit 2020: Think Africa Invest SA

MTN unveils TikTok bundles

Customised MTN TikTok data bundles are available to all prepaid customers on *136*2#.

Marketers need to reinvent themselves

Marketing is an exciting discipline, offering the perfect fit for individuals who are equally interested in business, human dynamics and strategic thinking. But the...

Upskill yourself to land your dream job in 2020

If you received admission to an IIE Higher Certificate qualification, once you have graduated, you can articulate to an IIE Diploma and then IIE Bachelor's degree at IIE Rosebank College.

South Africans unsure of what to expect in 2020

Almost half (49%) of South Africans, 15 years and older, agree or strongly agree that they view 2020 with optimism.

KZN teacher educators jet off to Columbia University

A group of academics were selected as participants of the programme focused on PhD completion, mobility, supervision capacity development and the generation of high-impact research.

New-style star accretion bursts dazzle astronomers

Associate Professor James O Chibueze and Dr SP van den Heever are part of an international team of astronomers studying the G358-MM1 high-mass protostar.