Mostert, Lambie called in for Bok-NZ Test

Lock Gerhard Mostert will play his first Test for injury-ravaged South Africa while young talent Patrick Lambie is set for his first start—at fullback—against the All Blacks in their Tri-Nations Test in Wellington on Saturday.

The 26-year-old Mostert replaces Flip van der Merwe who was sent home with a rib injury suffered in the Springboks’ 39-20 loss to Australia in the Tri-Nations opener while Lambie—who normally plays flyhalf for the Sharks—comes in for the injured Gio Aplon in the side named on Thursday.

Flanker Jean Deysel will also make his first start, with Danie Rossouw shifting to number eight and Ashley Johnson dropped to the bench for the Springboks who had left more than 20 of their frontline players home to rest for the World Cup in New Zealand starting on September 9.

Adi Jacobs starts at outside centre with Juan de Jongh moving to inside centre. Wynand Olivier has been dropped to the bench.

“We have had a few injury challenges on this tour and last week was not a good start but we have learnt from last week’s match,” coach Pieter de Villiers said in a statement.

“There have been some frank exchanges this week and the players know what is expected from them and that this is their opportunity.”

The team will be captained for a 78th time by John Smit in his 104th Test.—Reuters

Team: 15-Patrick Lambie, 14-Bjorn Basson, 13-Adi Jacobs, 12-Juan de Jongh, 11-Lwazi Mvovo, 10-Morne Steyn, 9-Ruan Pienaar, 8-Danie Rossouw, 7-Jean Deysel, 6-Deon Stegmann, 5-Alistair Hargreaves, 4-Gerhard Mostert, 3-Werner Kruger, 2-John Smit (captain), 1-Dean Greyling
Replacements: 16-Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17-CJ van der Linde, 18-Ryan Kankowski, 19-Ashley Johnson, 20-Charl McLeod, 21-Wynand Olivier, 22-Odwa Ndungane.

All Blacks
Team: 15-Mils Muliaina, 14-Cory Jane, 13-Conrad Smith 12-Ma’a Nonu, 11-Zac Guildford, 10-Dan Carter, 9-Jimmy Cowan, 8-Adam Thomson, 7-Richie McCaw (captain), 6-Jerome Kaino, 5-Ali Williams, 4-Sam Whitelock, 3-Ben Franks, 2-Andrew Hore, 1-Wyatt Crockett.
Reserves: 16-Corey Flynn, 17-John Afoa, 18-Jarrad Hoeata, 19-Liam Messam, 20-Piri Weepu, 21-Colin Slade, 22-Sonny Bill Williams.


Client Media Releases

NWU consistently among top SA universities in rankings
MTN gears up for Black Friday sale promotion
Software licensing should be getting simpler, but it's not
Utility outages: looking at the big picture
UKZN scientists get L'Or'eal-UNESCO Women in Science grants