Van der Walt and Oosthuizen lead Africa Open

Former British Open champion Louis Oosthuizen was joined by fellow South African Tjaart van der Walt at the top of the leaderboard on Saturday after three rounds of the Africa Open.

Title holder Oosthuizen took a two-stroke advantage into the penultimate round of the first 2012 European Tour event after a birdie-packed 62, but had to settle for a six-under-par 67 third time round the East London Golf Club layout.

Van der Walt followed his second-round 64 with a 65 and goes into the final round level with 2010 Open winner Oosthuizen on 198 — 21-under-par on a part-links, part-parkland 6 190-metre course overlooking the Indian Ocean.

The race for the 158 500-euro first prize has developed into a battle between South Africa, England and Scotland with Sweden’s Magnus Carlsson the lone ‘outsider’ among the top 12, who are separated by seven strokes.

Retief Goosen, the other Major winner in the field, occupies third place a stroke behind the leaders after a 66 and fellow South African Richard Sterne (64) and the United Kingdom’s Danny Willett (65) are a further shot adrift of the leaders.

Sterne returned the lowest round of the day on a course where a tight front nine is followed by a more spacious inward journey while Van der Walt, along with compatriots Darren Fichardt, Lyle Rowe and Willett, carded a 65 each.

Leading and selected scores after third round of Africa Open on Saturday at par-73, 6 190-metre East London Golf Club (RSA unless noted):

  • 198 – Tjaart van der Walt 69-64-65, Louis Oosthuizen 69-62-67
  • 199 – Retief Goosen 65-68-66
  • 200 – Danny Willett (ENG) 67-68-65
  • 202 – Richard Sterne 69-69-64
  • 203 – Jaco Van Zyl 71-65-67, Craig Lee (SCO) 68-67-68, Alastair Forsyth (SCO) 69-66-68
  • 205 – Tyrone Ferreira 68-68-69, Richard Bland (ENG) 67-69-69, Magnus Carlsson (SWE) 69-66-70, Thomas Aiken 64-69-72
  • 206 – Darren Fichardt 71-70-65, Lyle Rowe 73-68-65, Ruan de Smidt 69-70-67, Grant Muller 69-69-68, Adilson Da Silva (BRA) 69-69-68, Joshua Cunliffe 69-68-69, Tim Sluiter (NED) 68-69-69, Shaun Norris, 67-70-69, Phillip Price (WAL) 66-71-69, Benn Barham (ENG) 70-66-70, Matthew Baldwin (ENG) 72-64-70, Jaco Ahlers 65-68-73
  • 207 – Danie van Tonder 70-70-67, Agustin Domingo (ESP) 68-71-68, Allan Versfeld 69-70-68, Doug McGuigan 70-69-68, Peter Karmis 68-70-69, Tommy Fleetwood (ENG) 69-66-72


  • 208 – Garth Mulroy 68-72-68, George Coetzee 71-68-69
  • 209 – Chris Wood (ENG) 69-71-69, David Howell (ENG) 68-69-72
  • 210 – David Drysdale (SCO) 72-69-69, Steven O’Hara (SCO) 70-70-70

— Sapa-AFP

PW Botha wagged his finger and banned us in 1988 but we stood firm. We built a reputation for fearless journalism, then, and now. Through these last 35 years, the Mail & Guardian has always been on the right side of history.

These days, we are on the trail of the merry band of corporates and politicians robbing South Africa of its own potential.

To help us ensure another 35 future years of fiercely independent journalism, please subscribe.


Border walls don’t stop viruses, but a blanket amnesty might

Why South Africa should consider amnesty for undocumented migrants in the time of the coronavirus outbreak.

Mail & Guardian needs your help

Our job is to help give you the information we all need to participate in building this country, while holding those in power to account. But now the power to help us keep doing that is in your hands

Press Releases

The online value of executive education in a Covid-19 world

Executive education courses further develop the skills of leaders in the workplace

Sisa Ntshona urges everyone to stay home, and consider travelling later

Sisa Ntshona has urged everyone to limit their movements in line with government’s request

SAB Zenzele’s special AGM postponed until further notice

An arrangement has been announced for shareholders and retailers to receive a 77.5% cash payout

20th Edition of the National Teaching Awards

Teachers are seldom recognised but they are indispensable to the country's education system

Awards affirm the vital work that teachers do

Government is committed to empowering South Africa’s teachers with skills, knowledge and techniques for a changing world

SAB Zenzele special AGM rescheduled to March 25 2020

New voting arrangements are being made to safeguard the health of shareholders

Dimension Data launches Saturday School in PE

The Gauteng Saturday School has produced a number of success stories