Pro-Zuma NEC announced at Mangaung

The ANC has chosen its national executive council. (Delwyn Verasamy, M&G)

The ANC has chosen its national executive council. (Delwyn Verasamy, M&G)

The NEC list as announced at the ANC's conference in Mangaung on Thursday didn't include Tokyo Sexwale, Matthew Phosa, Thandi Modise or Fikile Mbalula.

Their exclusion from the NEC throws their political futures into serious doubt.

Senior ANC officials who were left off the the 80-member council at the ANC's previous elective conference in Polokwane have been virtually unheard of since Zuma came to office in 2009.

Former defence minister Mosiuoa Lekota teamed up with former Gauteng premier Mbhazima Shilowa to form Congress of the People after the pair's fortunes turned in the ANC.

But, former government ministers such as Alec Erwin, Essop Pahad and Charles Nqakula have been in the political wilderness since they left their government posts.

The list included Pule Mabe, former ANC Youth League treasurer who turned against Zuma's detractors in the league and threw his lot in with the president.

Controversial former Gauteng mec for housing Humphrey Memezi also made the list to huge cheers from the audience.

Finance minister Pravin Gordhan has been added to the NEC, as Trevor Manuel has stepped out. One of the concerns around Manuel's quitting politics was that there would not be a representative from the finance and economic cluster in cabinet on the NEC.

Others on the list included Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, Malusi Gigabe, Lindiwe and Max Sisulu, Collins Chabane, Naledi Pandor, Derek Hanekom and Tito Mboweni.

The electoral commission of the ANC together with the provincial monitors decided to present elected members, and make the full results available at a later stage.

"The announcement follows a tradition in the ANC in that those who have been successfully elected join officials on stage to take their rightful position on the NEC," despite how long that would take, they acknowledged.


List so far:
Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
Malusi Gigaba
Lindiwe Sisulu
Collins Chabane
Jeff Radebe
Naledi Pandor
Derek Hanekom
Pravin Gordhan
Tito Mboweni
Nathi Mthethwa
Max Sisulu
Bathabile Dlamini
Pallo Jordan
Blade Nzimande
Jackson Mthembu
Aaron Motsoaledi
Enoch Godongwana
Zizi Kodwa
Ebrahim Ebrahim
Ayanda Dlodlo
Lynne Brown
Siyabonga Cwele
Nomvula Mokonyane
Nomaindia Mfeketo
Thulas Nxesi
Sidumo Dlamini
Ruth Nozabelo Bhengu
Maite Nkoana-Mashabane
Obed Bapela
Billy Masethle
Ngoako Ramatlhodi
Angie Motshekga
Lindiwe Zulu
Joel Netshitenzhe
Tina Joemat-Pettersson
Rejoice Mabudafhasi
Susan Shabangu
Mildred Oliphant
Sue van der Merwe
Rosemary Zoleka
Dolly Mthembi-Mahanyele
Joe Phaahla
Fikile Majola
Joyce Mashamba
Pam Tshwete
Stone Sizani
Humphrey Memezi
Pule Mabe
Dikeledi Magadzi
Bheki Cele
Sam Mashinini
Miriam Segabutla
Winnie Madikizela-Mandela
Thoko Didiza
Rosinah Semenya
Edna Molewa
Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba
David Mahlobo
Tony Yengeni
Fikile Xasa
Sisi Mabe

Full list to come.


Client Media Releases

NWU specialist receives innovation management award
Reduce packaging waste: Ipsos poll
What is transactional SMS?
MTN on data pricing