Don't bet against Zuma: ABZ left out of the NEC

The members of the NEC who campaigned for a change of leadership in the ANC have been left out of the new council. (M&G)

The members of the NEC who campaigned for a change of leadership in the ANC have been left out of the new council. (M&G)

ANC president Jacob Zuma's allies dominated the party's newly elected national executive committee (NEC) on Thursday. All former NEC members who campaigned and supported the project to replace him with his former deputy Kgalema Motlanthe have been dumped.

Winnie Madikizela-Mandela was re-elected from the prominent 2007 NEC that publicly criticised Zuma and supported the call for leadership change. She received the majority of the Polokwane conference votes, but was this year the second last successful NEC member. Thenjiwe Mtintso, a South African Ambassador to Italy who once served the ANC as deputy secretary general was also re-elected, despite being nominated by Motlanthe's supporters.

Former treasurer general Mathews Phosa, Human Settlements Minister Tokyo Sexwale, Sport Minister Fikile Mbalula, ANC Youth League NEC member Andile Lungisa and former youth league leader Saki Mofokeng were the biggest losers after pushing to the end to lead the ANC. 

Former ANC Youth League president and Minister of Public Enterprises Malusi Gigaba's political star keeps rising. He was the second-most favourite member of the new NEC.

Congress of South African Trade Unions president Sdumo Dlamini becomes the first trade union movement leader to sit on the ANC NEC since 1994. While some in Cosatu believe it's a necessary step towards the federation's mission to populate the ANC's ranks, Dlamini's election into the top ANC structure will be contentious because of the possibility of compromising the federation's independence. Other key union leaders who made it to the NEC are National Union of Mineworkers president Senzeni Zokwana and health union Nehawu general secretary Fikile Majola. Thulas Nxesi, a former general secretary of teacher union Sadtu, was also elected. 

The new brooms in the NEC include former presidential spokesperson Zizi Kodwa, the ANC Youth League's suspended treasurer general Pule Mabe, North West ANC treasurer Philly Mapulane, chairperson of the Umkhonto we Sizwe Military Veterans Association Kebby Maphatsoe, former Western Cape provincial chairperson Mcebisi Skwatsha, Intelligence Minister Siyabonga Cwele, Cosatu president Sdumo Dlamini, Labour Minister Mildred Oliphant and Rosemary Zoleka.

Despite allegations of corruption and a guilty verdict by the Gauteng ANC, Humphrey Mmemezi made it to the new NEC. Former police commissioner Bheki Cele, who was fired for his role in the multimillion-rand police offices lease debacle, was also elected.

Surprise losers included Young Communist League general secretary Buti Manamela and former ANC Youth League secretary general Vuyiswa Tulelo.

Former president Thabo Mbeki's allies making a comeback to the ANC's highest decision-making body are former Reserve Bank Governor Tito Mboweni and former minister of agriculture Thoko Didiza.

Mmanaledi Mataboge

Mmanaledi Mataboge

Mmanaledi Mataboge is the Mail & Guardian's political editor. Raised in a rural village, she later studied journalism in a township where she fell in love with the medium of radio. This former radio presenter and producer previously worked as a senior politics reporter for the Mail & Guardian, and writes on politics, government, and anything that gives the disadvantaged, poor, and the oppressed a voice.
  • Read more from Mmanaledi Mataboge
  • ML

    Matuma Letsoalo is a senior politics reporter at the Mail & Guardian. He joined the newspaper in 2003, focussing on politics and labour, and collaborated with the M&G's centre for investigations, amaBhungane, from time to time.In 2011, Matuma won the South African Journalist of the Year Award and was also the winner in the investigative journalism category in the same year.In 2004, he won the CNN African Journalist of the Year prize – the MKO Abiola Print Journalism Award. Matuma was also a joint category winner of the Mondi Shanduka SA Story of the year Award in 2008. In 2013, he was a finalist for Wits University's Taco Kuiper Award.
  • Read more from ML
    • Comments

      blog comments powered by Disqus

      Client Media Releases

      Sanral welcomes court judgment for e-toll debt payment
      Business Intelligence in the digital era
      Pragma to again host Student Training Programme
      Celebrating the legacy of a literary giant
      MTN commemorates Human Rights Day
      Eastern Cape's Cobuqua people launch their blog