SA set for inaugural women's T20 championship

Proteas' captain Mignon du Preez. (Gallo)

Proteas' captain Mignon du Preez. (Gallo)

The South African women's cricket team will take part in the inaugural International Women's Cricket Championships in Qatar from January 9 – 25.

The triangular T20 tournament, with Ireland and hosts Pakistan, will stand the teams in good stead ahead of the ICC Women's World Twenty20 tournament in Bangladesh in March, where the three teams will meet again in Group A.

"This is a very welcome opportunity for the team, especially so close to the World T20," said Proteas' coach, Hilton Moreeng.

"This will be the perfect opportunity for us to see where we stand against other international sides since our last competitive game, against Sri Lanka, last November.

"Touring the sub-continent is also the ideal opportunity for me to be able to see how players adapt to the conditions."

The team departs for the United Arab Emirates on Wednesday.

South Africa women's team: Mignon du Preez (captain), Trisha Chetty, Moseline Daniels, Shandré Fritz, Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Lizelle Lee, Marcia Letsoalo, Sunette Lobser, Suné Luus, Nadine Moodley, Yolandi Potgieter, Chloe Tryon, Dané van Niekerk. – Sapa


Client Media Releases

GIBS boosts academic offering with two new programmes
UKZN alumnus competes in SA reality show
Warehousing the future - all tech and no people?
Hans Hultgren to present at ITWeb BI summit
Decline of the Zuma years