Steyn, De Villiers top CSA awards nominee list

Dale Steyn. (Getty)

Dale Steyn. (Getty)

AB de Villiers and Dale Steyn head the list of nominees for the 2013 Cricket South Africa (CSA) Professional awards to be announced at a banquet in Johannesburg on June 4.

The Proteas one day international (ODI) captain and the world’s leading Test match bowler were two of the five nominees for the main award – the South African Cricketer of the Year. 

The other nominees were Test and ODI batsmen Hashim Amla and JP Duminy, as well as ODI wicketkeeper/batsman Quinton de Kock. De Villiers was also nominated for the Castle Lager Test Cricketer of the Year award and the One Day International Cricketer of the Year. 

Steyn was nominated for Test Cricketer of the Year, the Blue Label Telecoms T20 International Cricketer of the Year, and the KFC So Good Award, and has all three nominations for the Ram Delivery of the Year. 

“The individual performances have once again been riveting and are too many to mention,” CSA chief executive Haroon Lorgat said. “This naturally puts extra demands on our eminent panel of judges who have the tough job of deciding the final winner in each of the various international categories. 

“I am tempted, though, to mention the century scored by Jacques Kallis in his final Test match and the double century scored by Graeme Smith against Pakistan. And then, of course, Dale Steyn’s bowling contributions in just about every Test match and also the three successive ODI centuries by the young Quinton de Kock are also worthy of being mentioned.” 

List of nominees
The awards covered the period from May 1 2013 to April 30 2014. The full list of nominees (in alphabetical order) is: 

INTERNATIONAL: South African Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Dale Steyn. Castle Lager Test Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis, Dale Steyn. Castle Lager One-Day International Cricketer of the Year: Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, Ryan McLaren. Blue Label Telecoms T20 International Cricketer of the Year: JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Dale Steyn. KFC So Good Award: Jacques Kallis, David Miller, Dale Steyn. Momentum Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Mignon du Preez, Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp.
DOMESTIC: Sunfoil Series Cricketer of the Season: Justin Ontong, Dane Piedt, Stiaan van Zyl (all Cape Cobras). Momentum One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Season: Craig Alexander (Dolphins), Justin Kemp (Cape Cobras), Heino Kuhn (The Unlimited Titans). RAM SLAMMER of the Season: Kyle Abbott (Dolphins), Beuran Hendricks (Cape Cobras), David Miller (Dolphins). CSA Coach of the Year: Paul Adams (Cape Cobras), Lance Klusener (Dolphins), Rob Walter (The Unlimited Titans). CSA Umpire of the Year: Johan Cloete, Shaun George, Adrian Holdstock.


Client Media Releases

Supersonic scores another ISP win
UKZN lecturer a finalist in SAICA competition
M&As create strategic options
Tshifhiwa Ramuthaga receives highest honour
NWU women shine at science awards