Jazzophiles get treated to festival's line-up

Billy Ocean. (Supplied)

Billy Ocean. (Supplied)

Jazz greats Dianne Reeves, Delfeayo Marsali, Sibongile Khumalo, Jonas Gwangwa and Billy Ocean were announced as part of the line-up for the 2014 Standard Bank Joy of Jazz.  

The annual jazz festival gathering will take place from September 25 to September 27 at the Sandton Convention Centre. It has also been confirmed as the venue for the next five years. For the first time audiences will be able to buy a full festival pass to the three main stages – Dinaledi, Conga and Mbira. 

During the first phase of the line-up announcement earlier this year, 2014 Best Jazz Vocal Grammy recipient Gregory Porter, and trumpeter Roy Hargrove were announced as performers of the festival. 

Performers from South Africa include Feya Faku and his quintet; the Mike Rossi Project; Herbie Tsoaeli and Carlo Mombelli, both of whom will be performing with their quartets. A number of Standard Bank Young Artist winners are also on the bill including Gloria Bosman (2000), Tutu Puoane (2004), Kesivan Naidoo (2009), Melanie Scholtz (2010), Shane Cooper (2013) and Kyle Shepherd (2014). 

Other performers include Ann Hampton Callaway, Charmaine Clamor, Christian Scott, Omar Sosa, Roberta Gambarini, Richard Bona, Dwele and Tomasz Sta?ko. Germany’s Wolfgang Diefenbach, the founder and artistic director of the Hessian State Youth Jazz Orchestra also known as Kicks & Sticks will provide a big band sound at this year’s festival. 

Also at the festival will be Delfeayo Marsalis alongside acclaimed Uptown Jazz Orchestra (UJO) who play everything from traditional New Orleans music, swing and bebop to modern-day brass band funk. 

Tickets to Joy of Jazz will be priced R750 for a one-day pass and R1 250 for the two-day pass. Tickets, which have gone on sale, are available at a 15% discount for all Standard Bank customers subject to availability and on presentation and usage of a valid Standard Bank debit, cheque and/or credit card at a Computicket outlet. 

The offer is limited to two tickets per person who meet the criteria.
The offer is not available for online bookings. This discount will be available until August 31 2014.   

Dinaledi stage:
Ann Hampton Callaway
Dianne Reeves 
Gregory Porter
Feya Faku Quintet
Herbie Tsoaeli
The Jazz Divas (Gloria Bosman, Melanie Scholtz, Sibongile Khumalo and Tutu Puoane)
Roberta Gambarini
Roy Hargrove

Mbira stage:
Billy Ocean
Kicks & Sticks

Conga stage:
Christian Scott
Jonas Gwangwa
Kyle Shepherd
Omar Sosa
Richard Bona

Diphala stage:
Carlo Mombelli Quartet
Charmaine Clamor
Delfeayo Marsalis
Mike Rossi Project
Standard Bank National Youth Jazz Band
Tomasz Stanko

For more information visit www.joyofjazz.co.za.

Rhodé Marshall

Rhodé Marshall

Rhodé Marshall is the Mail & Guardian's arts, culture and entertainment content producer. She started as a radio reporter and producer in Cape Town, before jumping into online news. When there is chaos, she is the responsible, cool and calm one. With one hand glued to her phone and the other to a can of Coca-Cola, she is a pop culture junkie. And don't you dare write her name without the accent on the e, she will make sure that you know how to do it on every device. Visit her blog: rhodemarshall.co.za Read more from Rhodé Marshall

Client Media Releases

MTN scoops multiple awards at premier ICT conference
Call for papers opens for ITWeb Cloud, Data Summit & DevOps Summit 2020
The world awaits Thandi Hlotshana