Here’s why the #Mamas2015 broke the internet

The MTV Africa Music Awards (Mamas) held at Inkosi Albert Luthuli International Convention Centre in Durban on Saturday for the second time, lived up to expectations. It was a big night for Nigeria and South Africa.

Let’s take a look at some of the highlights from the red carpet, host, winners and performances.

West Africa takes the cup

Seven of the 17 categories of the Mamas went to artists such as Mavins who walked away with the Song of the Year award for Dorobucci with Davido and Yemi Alade winning the Best Male and Best Female artists awards.

Nigerian superstars, twin Brothers Peter and Paul Okoye, popularly known as P-Square were named Artist of the Decade. The non-voting category was created to recognise hard working artists who have been on top of the game for a long time when it comes to African music. P-Square also won the Best Group award, beating South Africa’s house sensations, Beatenberg, Kenya’s power musicians and Sauti Sol.

Nigeria’s singer-songwriter D’Banj won the Mama Evolution award. Winning the award might be one of the highlights, but the kiss from TV and radio personality Bonang Matheba stole the show. Matheba, who was wearing a red dress, stood up and ended rumours of her affair with D’Banj, when she kissed the musician.

Bonang Matheba with D’banj. (Gallo)

On Friday, the two – who were affectionate over the weekend – were on the same panel discussion talking about their nomination at the MTV press conference, held at the Playhouse in Durban. Matheba, nominated for the Personality Of the Year award, which was won by the new  Daily Show host Trevor Noah, was seen leaving with D’Banj and holding hands after the briefing. On the red carpet, they walked together in matching black and gold outfits.

SA hip hop artists bag awards

Cassper Nyovest won in the Best Hip Hop category. Nyovest, who was also nominated for Best Newcomer and Best Song of the Year, last week told the Mail & Guardian that he has dreamed of winning at the awards. Nyovest made a grand entrance with his girlfriend Boity Thulo on the red carpet earlier in the evening.

The pair recently made headlines after reports that Nyovest, born-Refiloe Phoolo, and TV presenter Thulo are engaged. On the red carpet, the Club 808 presenter told the M&G that, “[Magazine] covers don’t always have to be about the negative stuff. If there is an opportunity to celebrate happiness and love, then it must be done all the time.”

Cassper Nyovest and Boity Thulo at the award show. (Gallo)

Thulo added that she came to the Mamas to support Nyovest. “I have been watching him for the past weeks practicing, rehearsing. He has been working so hard. I think it is going to be amazing.”

Other South African winners were Riky Rick, Bucie and AKA who won Best Collaboration for All Eyes On Me featuring Burnaboy, Da Les and JR. AKA thanked his family for supporting him.

(Image credit: Instagram)

Anthony Anderson impressed the crowd

US actor and comedian Anthony Anderson who scored his first Emmy nomination on Thursday for Black-ish kicked off the show by singing Big Nuz Woza e Durban. Anderson wowed the crowd when he pronounced some of the Zulu names. One of the artists he introduced was legendary maskandi musician Phuzekhemisi.

Here are some of the reactions about Anderson hosting the awards.

Despite doing a great job, there has been criticism about why international stars, particularly from the US, host the Mamas. Last year the awards, which returned after a three-year break, were hosted by American comedian and actor Marlon Wayans.  AKA told to the M&G that he hopes that one day a South African will host the MAMAs.

Fashion Police. Who wore what? And why?

Metro FM Dj Tbo Touch’s white turban became meme fodder on social networks over the weekend.

Despite Tbo Touch’s questionable outfit, these stars turned heads on the red carpet: Bucie, who performed alongside 2Face, looked fabulous in her teal gown, while MTV Base VJ Nomuzi Mabe wore a racy navy number and Pearl Thusi looked ethereal in chiffon number by Zarth. 

Here are some red carpet looks at the Mamas:

Full list of winners:

Personality Of the Year
Trevor Noah – Winner 
Bonang Matheba
OC Ukeje Basketmouth

Best Male
Davido – Winner
Diamond Platnumz

Best Female
Yemi Alade – Winner
Seyi Shay
Vanessa Mdee 

Best New Act
Patoranking – Winner
Anna Joyce 

Best Live Act
Diamond Platnumz -Winner
2nite Flavour 

Best Lusophone
Ary (Angola) – Winner B4 (Angola)
Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)
NGA (Angola)
Yuri Da Cunha (Angola) 

Best Pop & Alternative
Jeremy Loops(South Africa) – Winner
Fuse ODG (Ghana) 
Jimmy Nevis(South Africa)

Best Collaboration
AKA, Burnaboy, Da Les & JR: “All Eyes On Me” (SA/Nigeria) – Winner 
Davido, Uhuru & DJ Buckz: “The Sound” (Nigeria/SA) 
Diamond Platnumz & Iyanya: “Bum Bum” (Kenya/Nigeria) 
Toofan & DJ Arafat: “Apero Remix” (Togo/Ivory Coast) 
Stanley Enow & Sarkodie1: “Njama Njama Cow Remix” (Cameroon/Ghana) 

Best Hip Hop
Cassper Nyovest – Winner

Video of the year
Nafukwa – Ricky Rick – Winner
The Sound – Davido feat Uhuru and DJ Buckz 
Crazy – Seyi Shay feat Wizkid
Love you everyday – Bebe Cool
Doors – Prime Circle 

Best Francophone
DJ Arafat (Ivory Coast) – Winner
Jovi (Cameroon)
Laurette Le Pearle (DRC)
Tour 2 Garde (Ivory Coast)
Toofan (Togo) 

Best Group
P-Square (Nigeria) – Winner
B4 (Angola)
Beatenberg band (South Africa)
Black Motion (South Africa)
Sauti sol (Kenya) 

Song of the Year
Mavins: “Dorobucci” (Nigeria) – Winner
Casspernyovest Nyovest: “Doc Shebeleza” (South Africa)
Euphonik featuring Mpumi: “Busa” (South Africa) 
DJ Fisherman & NaakMusiQ featuring DJ Tira, Danger & Dream Team: “Call Out” (South Africa) 
Mr cashtime featuring kidxsa “Caracara” (South Africa) 
Lil kesh featuring Olamide & Davido: “Shoki Remix” (Nigeria) 
Sauti Sol: “Sura Yako” (Kenya)
Toofan: “Gweta” (Togo)
Wizkid: “Show You The Money” (Nigeria)
Yemi Alade: “Johnny” (Nigeria)

Mama Evolution 
D’Banj (Nigeria) -Winner
2face (Nigeria)
P-Square (Nigeria)
Asa (Nigeria)
Anselmo Ralph (Angola)
Black Coffee (South Africa)
Chameleone (Uganda)
Fally Ipupa (DRC)
HHP (South Africa)
Samini (Ghana) 

Best International Act
Nicki Minaj – Winner
Big Sean
Chris Brown

Artist of the Decade

MTV Base Leadership Award
Saran Kaba Jones & S’Bu Mavundla

We make it make sense

If this story helped you navigate your world, subscribe to the M&G today for just R30 for the first three months

Subscribers get access to all our best journalism, subscriber-only newsletters, events and a weekly cryptic crossword.”

Sthembiso Sithole
Sthembiso Sithole is a social media specialist. He recently studied BA Honours in Journalism and Media Studies at the University of the Witwatersrand. In 2014, he obtained his journalism qualification at Tshwane University of Technology. He has achieved so much, and there are tons more he dreams of accomplishing. He has written for The Star, was a blogger for JournTau, worked at SABC as a Digital News Producer and was formerly the Mail & Guardians social media editor.

Related stories


Already a subscriber? Sign in here


Latest stories

Links between colleges, industry vital

Weak partnerships with industry and poor curriculum choices are among the factors driving unemployment among graduates

‘South Africa on a path to unjust transition’

The country needs a greener economy but energy specialists say policymakers must ensure the creation of a fairer economy in the process

Whistleblower helps SIU in diamonds corruption raid

The SIU alleges fraud and graft in state mining company's procurement

SA Mint launches rhino coin

The coins are produced in limited quantities ranging from 500 to 2 000, depending on the demand

press releases

Loading latest Press Releases…