New Eskom board announced - Jabu Mabuza named as new chairperson

Jabu Mabuza (Image: BusinessTech)

Jabu Mabuza (Image: BusinessTech)

Jabu Mabuza, Telkom chairperson and President of Business Unity South Africa, has been appointed as Eskom’s board chairperson amid sweeping changes to the board of the embattled power utility.

Government has also recommended that former Land Bank CEO and Absa Capital executive Phakamani Hadebe be appointed as Eskom’s acting group CEO, with immediate effect.

Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa appointed Mabuza, the Presidency confirmed on Saturday.

Mabuza, together with CEO Sipho Maseko, has been credited with the turnaround of Telkom‚ which in 2012 was in financial doldrums.

Eskom has been in a leadership crisis after several board members, including the chairman and chief executive, resigned in 2017 amid growing concerns about governance at the state-owned enterprise. 

The new board will consist of:

  • Jabu Mabuza as chairperson
  • Sifiso Dabengwa
  • Sindi Mabaso-Koyana
  • Mark Lamberti
  • Prof Tshepo Mongalo
  • Prof Malegapuru Makgoba
  • Busisiwe Mavuso
  • Nelisiwe Magubane
  • Dr Rod Crompton
  • George Sebulela
  • Dr Pulane Molokwane
  • Dr Banothile Makhubela
  • Jacky Molisane

The Democratic Alliance said on Saturday that resigning as Eskom chairperson does not absolve outgoing chair Zethembe Khoza of the role he played in Eskom’s decline.

The opposition party said in a statement that it will not allow Khoza, or any other person implicated in corruption at state-owned enterprises (SOEs) or State Capture, to escape the consequences.


Client Media Releases

Teraco achieves global top 3 data centre ranking
PhD graduate tackles strike participation at Transnet port terminals