/ 8 April 2018

Athol Trollip wins contest for DA federal chair

'This is a fiercely contested election and there's a possibility of administrative change
(Leon Sadiki/Gallo Images)

Nelson Mandela Bay mayor Athol Trollip has defeated Tshwane mayor Solly Msimanga and been elected federal chairperson of the Democratic Alliance for a second term.

The two were involved in a heated race for the position, which came to an end at the party’s federal congress today where Trollip was announced as the winner.

While the DA does not endorse leaders by province, what was visible across the floor of the Tshwane events centre was that his support predomninantly came from the Western Cape and Eastern Cape provinces.

Many Gauteng and KwaZulu-Natal delegates were seen wearing t-shirts endorsing Msimanga as the preferred candidate.

The leadership collective that has been elected today remains largely the same with the exception of Michael Walters who has replaced Desiree van der Walt as one of the three deputy federal chairpersons.

The DA’s national leadership is as follows:

Federal Leader: Mmusi Maimane (unopposed)

Federal chairperson: Athol Trollip

Deputy federal chairpersons (in order of votes):

1. Ivan Meyer

2. Michael Walters

3. Refiloe Nt’sekhe

Chairperson of the federal council: James Selfe (uncontested)

Deputy chairperson of the federal council: Thomas Walters.