/ 24 August 2023

Egypt, Saudi Arabia, Argentina to become permanent members of Brics

Brics Flags
Brics countries have expressed commitment to collaborate on confronting global warming, with rapid urbanisation in the five member countries raising the urgency to deal with climate disaster risks.
Iran, which was favoured by the Russians, is said to have also received the nod from the Brazilians, but various sanctions are likely to be its stumbling block 

This content is restricted to subscribers only.

Join the M&G Community

Our commitment at the Mail & Guardian is to ensure every reader enjoys the finest experience. Join the M&G community and support us in delivering in-depth news to you consistently.

Subscription enables:

  • - M&G community membership
  • - independent journalism
  • - access to all premium articles & features
  • - a digital version of the weekly newspaper
  • - invites to subscriber-only events
  • - the opportunity to test new online features first

Already a subscriber?