/ 19 December 2022

Patricia de Lille (Grade B)

February 13 2020 The State Of The Nation 2020, Parliamnet Cape Town. Photo By David Harrison
Different sides: Minister of public works Patricia de lille. (David Harrison/M&G)

Public Works and Infrastructure

Patricia de Lille

Key Goals
1. Repair damaged state infrastructure: Achieved

2. Rebuild areas in KwaZulu-Natal and Eastern Cape affected by flooding: Partially achieved

3. Establish and enforce an anti-corruption forum in the built environment: Achieved


Minister Patricia de Lille’s year was made difficult by the devastating KwaZulu-Natal floods that not only claimed more than 450 lives and people’s homes, but severely damaged the provinces’ infrastructure. 

A major rebuilding effort was required to restore more than 60 damaged state properties, including an air force base in KwaZulu-Natal, as well as building and repairing bridges and giving out more than 250 land parcels to displaced families. 

Although the department was only able to distribute four land parcels, it managed to repair all state properties, as well as commenced work on the bridges. 

But it was tensions in the built environment caused by mismanagement in the South African Council for the Architectural Profession (Sacap) that also made the headlines, with the minister saying these had been resolved.

Minister Says
Since the conclusion of the [Sacap] matter we have not had similar claims. Stability has since been restored to the council and it has been able to discharge its mandate.

Regarding the floods, we will continue to provide support in [KwaZulu-Natal] in any way we can in terms of our mandate and work with all spheres of government to ensure that we restore KZN and help the many households in need.


Click on a minister
Cyril Ramaphosa
David Mabuza
Maite Nkoana-Mashabane
Fikile Mbalula
Angie Motshekga
Aaron Motsoaledi
Nathi Mthethwa
Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
Mmamoloko Kubayi
Thandi Ruth Modise
Khumbudzo Ntshavheni
Ebrahim Patel
Naledi Pandor
Mathume Joseph Phaahla
Pravin Gordhan
Senzo Mchunu
Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams
Lindiwe Sisulu
Thokozile Didiza
Lindiwe Zulu
Patricia DeLille
Ronald Lamola
Barbara Creecy
Bheki Cele
Blade Nzimande
Mondli Gungubele
Enoch Godongwana
Gwede Mantashe
Thulas Nxesi
(Public Service and Administration)
Thulas Nxesi
(Employment and Labour)