Few surprises on candidates lists

There were virtually no surprises on Tuesday as political parties finalised the names of candidates to be sworn in to the National Assembly on Friday.

The top five names on the African National Congress’s list, displayed on its website, are President Thabo Mbeki, Deputy President Jacob Zuma, Foreign Affairs Minister Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, Education Minister Kader Asmal and Finance Minister Trevor Manuel.

The ruling party will return to power with 279 seats in the Assembly.

The official opposition will see the return of old hands, such as Raenette Taljaard and Douglas Gibson, but there are also 21 new faces who will represent the Democratic Alliance, which won 50 seats in the Assembly.

These include former journalist Dianne Kohler-Barnard. A furore broke out over Kohler-Barnard being appointed to the DA candidate list while she worked for SAFM. She resigned her position to pursue her political aspirations.

Helen Zille will also join the party’s national caucus after leading the provincial caucus in the Western Cape.

The New National Party’s seven seats will be filled by party leader Marthinus van Schalkwyk, Cecil Herandien, Francois Beukman, Stan Simmons, Andre Gaum, Carl Greyling and the sole woman on the list, Carol Johnson.

“I’m the baby again, the youngest and the only woman. It was touch and go but I’m in,” she said.

Patricia de Lille, Avril Harding, Cecil Burgess, Noncedo Bulana, Lance Greyling, Chris Wang and Vincent Gore will fill the seats won by the Independent Democrats. Gore left the DA earlier this year due to an apparent disagreement about his position on the party list.

The top candidates on the Inkatha Freedom Party’s list include party leader Mangosuthu Buthelezi, Ben Skosana, Albert Mncwango, Gavin Woods and Suzanne Vos. The party won 28 seats in the Assembly.

The African Christian Democratic Party will be represented by leader Kenneth Meshoe, Louis Green, Steve Swart, Kent Durr, Cheryllyn Dudley and Mighty Madasa.

The Azanian People’s Organisation will be represented by party leader Mosibudi Mangena and his deputy, Pandelani Nefolovhodwe.

Motsoko Pheko, Themba Godi and Mofihli Likotsi will represent the Pan Africanist Congress.

Sunklavathy Rajbally and Royith Bholla will be sworn in to represent the Minority Front.

The Freedom Front Plus will be represented by leader Pieter Mulder, Corne Mulder, Pieter Groenewald and Willie Spies.

The United Democratic Movement’s list was not yet available on Tuesday.—Sapa

Client Media Releases

First two MTN CakeCrush Competition winners announced
Fun things to do in Cape Town
Sebata establishes Skills Development Centre
Fempreneurs shine during EWP gala event