Salman Rushdie named best of the Booker bunch

Salman Rushdie is probably the Booker Prize’s best-known winner. Now he is officially the best.

Rushdie’s 1981 novel Midnight’s Children was named on Thursday as the greatest winner to date of Britain’s most prestigious literary award. The book received more than a third of the 7 801 votes cast in a competition to mark the prize’s 40th anniversary.

The book beat five other finalists, including Pat Barker’s World War I novel The Ghost Road and South African writer JM Coetzee’s Disgrace.

Rushdie, who is promoting his latest novel, The Enchantress of Florence, in the United States, said in a videotaped message that he was “absolutely delighted” with the accolade.

The Indian-born British writer had been strong favourite for the “Best of the Booker” award. Midnight’s Children won a similar contest held in 1993 to mark the Booker’s 25th anniversary.

“It’s a book which always appears on polls of people’s favourite books, so it’s no surprise to see it win,” said Jonathan Ruppin, promotions manager of the Foyles bookstore chain. “He’s not to everyone’s taste, but from a bookseller’s point of view, authors who get books into the news are always welcome.”

The 41 Booker winners were winnowed down to six finalists by a panel of three judges that included a biographer, a broadcaster and an English professor. The public was then asked to vote online or by SMS.

The other finalists were Australian novelist Peter Carey’s Oscar and Lucinda, Nadine Gordimer’s The Conservationist and — the outsider — The Siege of Krishnapur by the late JG Farrell.

Born in Mumbai in 1947 and educated in England, Rushdie shot to literary fame with Midnight’s Children, a magic-realist saga that weaves the story of a narrator, born at the moment of India’s independence in 1947, with the subcontinent’s modern history.

His 1988 novel The Satanic Verses angered many in the Muslim world and brought a death sentence for blasphemy from Iran’s then leader, Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini.

Rushdie lived in hiding for a decade until the Iranian government distanced itself from the order in 1998, saying it would not back any effort to kill Rushdie. He has since gradually returned to public life, and spends much of his time in New York.

He was knighted by Queen Elizabeth II last year and received the honour at Buckingham Palace last month.

The prize is formally known as the Man Booker after its sponsor, financial services conglomerate Man Group plc. It was first handed out in 1969 and is open to writers from Britain, Ireland and the Commonwealth. There have been 41 winners because there were joint champions in 1974 and 1992.

Winners receive £50 000 and a burst of publicity that usually brings a surge in sales. — Sapa-AP

On the net
Man Booker Prize

Subscribe to the M&G

These are unprecedented times, and the role of media to tell and record the story of South Africa as it develops is more important than ever.

The Mail & Guardian is a proud news publisher with roots stretching back 35 years, and we’ve survived right from day one thanks to the support of readers who value fiercely independent journalism that is beholden to no-one. To help us continue for another 35 future years with the same proud values, please consider taking out a subscription.

Related stories

Tsitsi Dangarembga: Are we mourning ourselves, each other and this state we are in?

The author discusses the trilogy of novels that propelled her onto the Booker shortlist, and their relevance to present-day Zimbabwe

Maaza Mengiste: ‘We are now catching up with the past’

As war drums beat again in Ethiopia, author Maaza Mengiste finds new language to memorialise the Second Italo-Ethiopian War

The dance of memory

Coming to terms with the politics of nostalgia amid the myths of the Rainbow Nation is hard to do

Price on Salman Rushdie’s head continues to soar

Twenty eight years after The Satanic Verses was first published, Iran has renewed its efforts in the fatwa issued against author Salman Rushdie.

Outspoken author thanks writers for aiding her release

A first-time South African novelist’s admiration for Salman Rushdie saw her physically attacked and allegedly forced into a mental institution.

Writers rally around the author who dared to admire Rushdie

"She would not have avoided a conversation. But debate, conversation and engagement are not possible in the face of violence."

Subscribers only

Covid-19 surges in the Eastern Cape

With people queuing for services, no water, lax enforcement of mask rules and plenty of partying, the virus is flourishing once again, and a quarter of the growth is in the Eastern Cape

Ace prepares ANC branches for battle

ANC secretary general Ace Magashule is ignoring party policy on corruption-charged officials and taking his battle to branch level, where his ‘slate capture’ strategy is expected to leave Ramaphosa on the ropes

More top stories

Limpopo big-game farmer accused of constant harassment

A family’s struggle against alleged intimidation and failure to act by the authorities mirrors the daily challenges farm dwellers face

Did Botswana execute ‘poachers’ ?

The Botswana Defence Force’s anti-poaching unit has long been accused of a ‘shoot to kill’ policy. Over 20 years the unit has killed 30 Namibians and 22 Zimbabweans

Zondo tightens his grip with criminal complaint against Zuma

The state capture commission’s star witness now faces a criminal complaint and another summons

Sharp sting of the Green Scorpions

Crime busters secure a 97% conviction rate and register more criminal dockets for range of crimes

press releases

Loading latest Press Releases…