ANC rules National Assembly, but misses two-thirds

Although narrowly missing a two-thirds majority, the ANC will dominate the National Assembly, with 264 seats compared to its closest competitor, the DA, with 67.

The announcement by Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) chairperson Brigalia Bam was met with applause on Saturday evening in Pretoria.

The ANC was happy with its performance in the election despite missing a two-thirds majority by a whisker. Its spokesperson, Ishmael Mnisi, said the party did not need such a majority and never said it wanted one.

“We have always been very clear that we wanted a decisive win ...
the ANC never called for a two thirds majority, we are quite happy with the mandate the people have given us,” he said from the centre after IEC chief electoral officer Pansy Tlakula announced that the vote count had been completed.

After a fierce battle at the polls, with the ANC rolling out its strongest election machinery yet, the party is set to govern South Africa for a further five years.

The ANC received a 65,90% win of the 17 680 729 valid votes cast. It received the support of 11 650 748 voters, or 65,9% of the votes.

The emergence of Cope, a party headed by former ANC chairman Terror Lekota and former Gauteng premier Mbhazima Shilowa—after the sacking of former president Thabo Mbeki—had “galvanised” the ANC. It spent about R200-million on its election campaign, headed by national executive committee member Fikile Mbalulu, placing party president Jacob Zuma at the centre of the campaign.

Zuma arrived 30 minutes before the final results announcement amidst cheers. Zuma walked to the front of the announcement area and greeted Cope presidential candidate Mvume Dandala warmly. As Zuma walked past Dandala, the former bishop moved to shake his hand but Zuma pulled him into an embrace, saying: “Bishop, congratulations.”

ANC’s spokesperson Mnisi said the party would now wait for the parliamentary processes, which will see Zuma placed in the presidency and his Cabinet selected, to unfold and then “get to work” on improving service delivery.

The final tally


The ANC received a 65,90% win of the 17 680 729 valid votes cast. It received the support of 11 650 748 voters, 65,9% of the votes.

The ANC had, based on the high number of its votes, secured 264 seats in the national assembly and 126 on the national provincial list.

The Democratic Alliance, the official opposition party received a 16,66% of votes with 2 945 829 South Africans backing the party.

The Democratic Alliance received 67 seats in the national assembly and 16 provincially.

Newcomer Congress of the People received 7,42% with 1 311 027 votes.

Cope took 30 seats in the larger legislature and 16 provincially.

The Inkatha Freedom Party received 18 seats in the national assembly and nine in the provincial legislature.

UDM, FF+ and ID
Neck and neck, the United Democratic Movement, Freedom Front Plus and Independent Democrats each received four seats in the national assembly and three spots on the provincial list.

The minnows
The Pan Africanists Congress of Azania received one seat in parliament and one on the provincial list.

The United Christian Democratic Party received two in the national house and one in the provincial one.

The African Christian Democratic Party received three seats in Parliament and three in the national provincial list.

The Azanian People’s Organisation, the Azanian People’s Convention and the Minority Front received one seat in each house.

Client Media Releases

UKZN School of Engineering celebrates accreditation from ECSA
MTN celebrates 25 years of enhancing lives through superior network connectivity
Financial services businesses focus on CX