Drogba, Eto'o and Gyan up for award

Strikers Didier Drogba, Samuel Eto’o and Asamoah Gyan have been named as finalists for Africa’s 2010 player of the year award.

Ivory Coast’s Drogba is a two-time winner and last claimed the honour in 2009. He won the English Premier League title with Chelsea last season, finishing as the league’s top scorer with 29 goals in 32 games.

Eto’o of Cameroon, Africa’s player of the year in 2003, 2004 and 2005, won an Italian league, cup and Champions League treble with Inter Milan in 2010. Gyan starred as Ghana advanced to the quarterfinals at the World Cup.

The winner will be decided by a vote of the coaches or technical directors of the 53 countries that make up the Confederation of African Football on December 20.—Sapa


Client Media Releases

NWU consistently among top SA universities in rankings
MTN gears up for Black Friday sale promotion
Software licensing should be getting simpler, but it's not
Utility outages: looking at the big picture
UKZN scientists get L'Or'eal-UNESCO Women in Science grants