Evans and Ramaala elected to run SA athletes

Elite marathon runner Hendrick Ramaala has been elected vice-president of Athletics South Africa (ASA).

Ramaala won the race to the vice-president’s post at the quadrennial ASA elections in Johannesburg on Saturday.

James Evans was re-elected as president of the federation.

“It is pleasing to see that the current board was on the right track and members are voting for continuity,” Evans said.

Harold Adams was the only other figure running for the president’s post after Ramaala, former vice-president Motlatsi Keikabile and Aleck Skhosana withdrew their nominations.

Evans received 33 votes with Adams getting 24.

Ramaala, who won the 2004 New York Marathon, got 31 votes for the vice-president’s seat — five more than Pillay, a double Commonwealth bronze medallist.

Adams, Keikabile and Skhosana withdrew their nominations for vice-president, leaving both top positions as two-horse races.

“We are very excited about the next four years,” Ramaala said.

“We need to make the sport work and focus on growing the sport to match and outplay the other major sports such as rugby and cricket.”

The Chuene legacy
Evans took over as ASA president in July last year after a tumultuous three-year ride following the suspension and removal of former ASA president Leonard Chuene and his board.

Chuene and other board members were banned from involvement in any sport under the jurisdiction of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee, for up to seven years, following investigations of fraud and corruption, and their involvement in the Caster Semenya gender debacle.

“It’s gratifying to have the confidence of the provinces and council,” Evans said.

“The mix of experienced administrators, recently active athletes and specialists in the disciplines makes for a strong, capable board.”

Newly elected ASA board: James Evans (president), Hendrick Ramaala (vice-president), Geraldine Pillay (athletes’ commission), Andre Gobey (cross country chair), James Moili (road running chair), Pieter Laurens (track and field), Shireen Noble, Ester Malema, Blanche Moila, and Marvin Draai. — Sapa.

These are unprecedented times, and the role of media to tell and record the story of South Africa as it develops is more important than ever. But it comes at a cost. Advertisers are cancelling campaigns, and our live events have come to an abrupt halt. Our income has been slashed.

The Mail & Guardian is a proud news publisher with roots stretching back 35 years. We’ve survived thanks to the support of our readers, we will need you to help us get through this.

To help us ensure another 35 future years of fiercely independent journalism, please subscribe.

Guest Author

ConCourt settles the law on the public protector and interim...

The Constitutional Court said it welcomed robust debate but criticised the populist rhetoric in the battle between Busisiwe Mkhwebane and Minister Pravin Gordhan

Small towns not ready for level 3

Officials in Beaufort West, which is on a route that links the Cape with the rest of the country, are worried relaxed lockdown regulations mean residents are now at risk of contracting Covid-19

Press Releases

Covid-19 and Back to School Webinar

If our educators can take care of themselves, they can take care of the children they teach

5G technology is the future

Besides a healthcare problem Covid-19 is also a data issue and 5G technology, with its lightning speed, can help to curb its spread

JTI off to court for tobacco ban: Government not listening to industry or consumers

The tobacco ban places 109 000 jobs and 179 000 wholesalers and retailers at risk — including the livelihood of emerging farmers

Holistic Financial Planning for Professionals Webinar

Our lives are constantly in flux, so it makes sense that your financial planning must be reviewed frequently — preferably on an annual basis

Undeterred by Covid-19 pandemic, China and Africa hold hands, building a community of a shared future for mankind

It is clear that building a community with a shared future for all mankind has become a more pressing task than ever before

Wills, Estate Administration and Succession Planning Webinar

Capital Legacy has had no slowdown in lockdown regarding turnaround with clients, in storing or retrieving wills and in answering their questions

Call for Expression of Interest: Training supply and needs assessment to support the energy transition in South Africa

GIZ invites eligible and professional companies with local presence in South Africa to participate in this tender to support the energy transition

Obituary: Mohammed Tikly

His legacy will live on in the vision he shared for a brighter more socially just future, in which racism and discrimination are things of the past

The best local and international journalism

handpicked and in your inbox every weekday