Le Clos: SA’s sports star of the year

The 20-year-old clinched the top accolade ahead of last year's winner, cricketer Hashim Amla, swimmers Natalie du Toit and Cameron van der Burgh, athletes Caster Semenya and Oscar Pistorius, Bafana Bafana striker Siyabonga Nomvete and Protea wicket-taker Vernon Philander in Johannesburg on Sunday night.

Le Clos became an overnight sensation when he beat Michael Phelps by a whisker for the gold medal in the 200m butterfly at the 2012 London Olympics. He went on to win silver in the 100m butterfly behind Phelps.

Philander claimed the sportsman of the year trophy following a prolific debut Test season where he became the second-fastest man to take 50 wickets in the history of cricket.

Rowing South Africa were also big winners on the evening, scooping three awards with their president Wimpie du Plessis named administrator of the year and the sporting code taking the federation of the year award.

The Olympic gold-medal winning South African men's coxless lightweight fours rowing team of Sizwe Ndlovu, Matthew Britain, John Smith and James Thompson walked away with the team of the year award.

Semenya, who was the country's only medallist in the track and field at the London Olympic Games, clinching the 800m silver medal, received the sportswoman of the year award.

In the coach of the year category, Banyana Banyana's Joseph Mkhonza walked away with the spoils. Mkhonza led the South African women's soccer team to its first Olympic Games where they failed to advance past the group stages at the London showpiece.

Legendary Paralympian Du Toit was honoured during the evening by being named sportswoman of the year with disability. She bowed out from competitive swimming after this year's Paralympic Games having won a total of 13 gold and two silver medals in Paralympic competitions.

The sportsman of the year with disability went to Pistorius, who this year made history by competing at both the Olympics and Paralympics. – Sapa


  • Sports star of the year: Chad le Clos (swimming).
  • Sportsman of the year: Vernon Philander (cricket).
  • Sportswoman of the year: Caster Semenya (athletics).
  • Coach of the year: Joseph Mkhonza (football).
  • Sportswoman of the year with Disability: Natalie du Toit (swimming).
  • Sportsman of the year with Disability: Oscar Pistorius (athletics).
  • Federation of the year: Rowing.Team of the year: Rowing.
  • Administrator of the year: Wimpie du Plessis (rowing).
  • Newcomer of the year: Siya Kolisi (rugby).
  • Volunteer of the year: Sondiso Magajana (judo).
  • School team of the year: Ithembelihle High (rugby).
  • Journalist of the year: Velile Mbuli
  • Photographer of the year: Sydney Seshibedi
  • Recreation body of the year: Vakhegula (Vakhegula football)
  • Steve Tshwete Lifetime Award 2012: Elijah Tap Tap Makhithini (boxing), Papwa Sewgolum Sewsunker (golf), Sam Ramsamy, Petros Molemela (football), Sally Little (golf), Joost van der Westhuizen (rugby).
  • Green Jacket recipients for 2012: Matthews Motshwareteu (athletics), Blanche Moila (athletics), Grant Khomo Was bestowed with order of Ikhamanga (cricket, rugby, football and tennis), Nelson Teenage Dladla (football).

Subscribe to the M&G

These are unprecedented times, and the role of media to tell and record the story of South Africa as it develops is more important than ever.

The Mail & Guardian is a proud news publisher with roots stretching back 35 years, and we’ve survived right from day one thanks to the support of readers who value fiercely independent journalism that is beholden to no-one. To help us continue for another 35 future years with the same proud values, please consider taking out a subscription.

Related stories

Semenya’s long run for justice ends

World Athletics, in its pursuit of Semenya, has destroyed anything resembling fairness. The waters have been polluted, leaving future generations to wade through a set of rules that make sense to very few people.

‘Wrong side of history’: Caster Semenya’s CAS appeal shot down

South Africa’s star Olympic athlete may well have run out of legal options after latest loss in Swiss tribunal

ASA and athletes view Doha disaster differently

Wanted: A single hymn sheet from which Athletics South Africa and its athletes can sing to improve their medal haul at the upcoming Olympics in Tokyo

Simbine sprints out of Bolt’s shadow

With the Jamaican out of the picture, South Africa’s favourite in a new generation of sprinters may just snatch the gold

Ford, on the road to freedom

Cape Town-based radio technical producer Brett Kannemeyer only ever idolised one kind of motor vehicle — Ford

Tall inside, but not short of opinions

Navigating the world as a little person is no big deal. But it can be exhausting when other people feel entitled to comment on your height

Subscribers only

Dozens of birds and bats perish in extreme heat in...

In a single day, temperatures in northern KwaZulu-Natal climbed to a lethal 45°C, causing a mass die-off of birds and bats

Q&A Sessions: Frank Chikane on the rainbow where colours never...

Reverend Frank Chikane has just completed six years as the chairperson of the Kagiso Trust. He speaks about corruption, his children’s views and how churches can be mobilised

More top stories

ATM withdrawal halts no-confidence vote against the president

The party wants the court to rule on the secret ballot issue first, with the case set to be heard in early February

Ruling deals crushing blow to zero-hours contracts

Ferrero factory workers have won the first battle in what might become one of South Africa’s next wars on casual and precarious work

Eusebius McKaiser: Mpofu, Gordhan caught in the crosshairs

The lawyer failed to make his Indian racist argument and the politician refused to admit he had no direct evidence

Corruption forces health shake-up in Gauteng

Dr Thembi Mokgethi appointed as new health MEC as premier seeks to stop Covid-19 malfeasance

press releases

Loading latest Press Releases…