South African Music Awards nominees announced

Hip hop artist, Cassper Nyovest, born Refiloe Phoolo, has dominated yet another music award event. This time around, he received five nominations at the 21st South African Music Awards (Samas), which include, best rap album for Tsholofelo, best album, best collaboration with OkMalumkookat for Gusheshe, best male artist and best newcomer. 

Fellow newcomers and pop trio Beatenberg, also scored five nominations in the categories, best pop album for The Hanging Gardens of Beatenberg, best collaboration, best album, best duo/group and best newcomer. “We were kind of speechless when they called our names during the press conference. If we win an award it’s going to raise our profile and it’s going to be a huge step forward for the band,” said Beatenberg member, Robin Brink.  The trio is already working on new material, but they don’t have a release date yet. 

“We understand that winning this prestigious award is often career defining & view it as our contribution to the future,” said Samas Supervisory Committee Chairperson, Refiloe Ramogase at the nominations press conference in Johannesburg on the morning of March 12. “Today’s nominees are a part of the legacy we are creating for the future.”

This year’s Samas have been branded the #SAMAXXI, XXI being the Roman numeral for 21. The award ceremony will take place on April 19 at the Sun City resort in the North West and audiences will see show live on SABC 1.

Nominees for the XXI Annual South African Music Awards:

Best Rock Album 
aKing – Morning After 
Prime Circle – Let the Night in 
Reburn – Majestic 
Taxi Violence – Tenfold
Zebra & Giraffe – Knuckles

Best Pop Album 
Beatenberg – Hanging Gardens of Beatenberg 
Jimmy Nevis – The Masses 
Monark – Negatives 
The Kiffness – KIFF 
Toya Delazy – Ascension

Beste Pop Album 
Bobby van Jaarsveld – Maak ‘n Wens
Eden – Nooit Oud Raak Nie 
Kurt Darren – Lied Vir Die Vrou 
Nádine – Skildery 
Riana Nel – Die Regte Tyd

Best Adult Contemporary Album 
Arno Carstens – Lighting Prevails 
BlackByrd – Home 
Howie Combrink – Eat It While Its Hot 
Josie Field – S’bongile 
Niemand – Back Again

Best Kontemporêre Musiek Album 
Adam Tas – Want Jy Is Boer 
Chris Chameleon & Daniella Deysel – Posduif  
Dewald Wasserfall – ?#?EkEnJy 
Dozi – Hande Vol Genade 
Pieter Koen – Wat Die Hart Van Vol Is

Best Traditional Album  
Botlhale Boikanyo – Spoken Word & Music
Brian Finch – Living for Yesterday
Imfez’emnyama – Palesa
Impumelelo – Isiporoporo
Qadasi (David Jenkins) – Uhambo Olusha

Best Maskandi Album 
Abakamnyandu – KoMalume
Amawele Ka Mamtshawe – Mhla Uphelamandla
Ichwane Lebhaca – Ohulumeni
Maqhinga Radebe – Facebook
Thokozani Langa – Igema Lami

Best Jazz Album 
Herbie Tsoaeli – African Time Quartet in Concert
Kyle Shepherd Trio – Dream State
Marcus Wyatt & Language 12 – Maji Maji in the Land of Milk & Honey 
McCoy Mrubata – Brasskap Sessions Vol. 2
Nduduzo Makhathini – Mother Tongu

Best RnB, Soul and Reggae
Afrotraction – For The Lovers
Lulu Dikana – I Came To Love
Moneoa – Ndim Lo
The Soil – Nostalgic Moments
Vusi Nova – Did it for Love

Best Classical and/or Instrumental Album
CH2 Guitar Duo – Soos In Die Ou Dae
Charl du Plessis Trio – Baroqueswing
Tony Cox – Padkos
University of Pretoria Camerata – Phoenix
Wouter Kellerman – Winds of Samsara

Best Traditional Faith Music 
Andile Ka Majola – Chapter 6 Ujehova Ungibiyele
Rebecca Malope – Ama VIP
Rofhiwa Manyanga – Victory in the Blood
S’fiso Ncwane – Bayede Baba
Worship House – Live Project 11

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album 
Khaya Mthethwa – The Uprising Limited Edition
Loyiso Bala – Power Love Sound 
Ndo Dlakadla – Rhythm of Worship
Tebello Sukwene – He’s Alive
Word and Life – Freedom

Best African Adult Album
Kelly Khumalo – Back To My Roots
Maleh – You Make My Heart Go
Max-Hoba – Traveling Man
Ringo Madlingozi – Vulani
Simphiwe Dana – Firebrand

Best Alternative Album 
Bittereinder – Skerm
Bye Beneco – Space Elephant
Dassie – Mistress
Jeremy Loops – Trading Change
Tailor – Light

Best Live DVD
Benjamin Dube – Renewal in His Presence
Krone – Krone Live
Lira – First Decade
Spirit Of Praise – Spirit Of Praise Vol. 5
Various Artists – Innibos is Groot 2014 “Live”

Music Video of the Year
Alessio Bettocchi – Yaya – DJ Dimplez ft Dream Team and Anati
Mzi Kumalo – Turn You On – Mi Casa
Ryan Kruger – Let The Night In – Prime Circle
Kyle Lewis – In Defence Of My Art – Tumi Molekane
Zakes Bantwini – Ghetto – Zakes Bantwini

Best Producer of the Year
Lulu Dikana & Powella Tiemo – I Came To Love – Lulu Dikana
Ewald Jansen van Rensburg – Negatives – Monark
Denholm George Harding – Let The Night In – Prime Circle
David Scott – KIFF – The Kiffness
Wouter Kellerman & Ricky Kej – Winds Of Samsara – Wouter Kellerman

Best Engineer of the Year
Brian O’Shea, Crighton Goodwill & Marius Brouwer – Johnny Apple – Johnny Apple
Dave Reynolds & Peter Pearlson – The Light of Day – Dave Reynolds
Peter Auret – Brasskap Sessions Vol. 2 – McCoy Mrubata
Brendyn “Rusti” Rossouw – Let The Night In – Prime Circle
Jürgen von Wechmar, Rogan Kelsey, Ross Fink & Jaziel Sommers – Ascension – Toya Delazy

Remix of the Year
DJ Sbu, Robbie Malinga & Mojalefa Thebe – DJ Sbu – Indlela Yam
Select Play – Duncan – Tsiki Tsiki
Goldfish – Moonwalk Away (Goldfish Moon Landing Mix) Radio Edit
Heavy K – Personal Paradise
Riky Rick – Amantombazane

Best Rap Album
AKA – Levels
Duncan – Street Government
Cassper Nyovest – Tsholofelo
K.O – Skhanda Republic
Reason – Audio High Definition

Best Kwaito Album
Lvovo Derrango – The Boss
PHI and Ginger – Licence to Hustle
Professor – University of KalawaJazmee Since 1994
Thebe – The Legend
Trompies – Delicious

Best Dance Album
Black Motion – Fortune Teller
Bucie – Princess of House (Easy to Love)
Cuebur – The Brand New Me – Disc 2 Soul Candi Sessions 2015
Da Capo – Da Capo
DJ Clock – The 4th Tick – A Clockumentary

Best Collaboration
AKA and K.O – Run Jozi
Cassper Nyovest and Okmalumkoolkat – Gusheshe
Beatenberg and DJ Clock – Pluto
K.O and KidX – Caracara
The Soil and Ladysmith Black Mambazo – Hamba Uyosebenza

Best Male of the Year
Cassper Nyovest
Jimmy Nevis
Ringo Madlingozi

Best Female of the Year
Bucie – Princess Of House
Moneoa – Ndim Lo
Maleh – You Make My Heart Go
Lulu Dikana – I Came To Love
Simphiwe Dana – Firebrand

Best Duo or Group of the Year
Mccroy Mrubata
The Soil

Best Newcomer of the Year
Beatenberg – The Hanging Gardens of Beatenberg
Cassper Nyovest – Tsholofelo
Duncan Skuva – Street Government
Howie Combrink – Eat It While It’s Hot
Jeremy Loops – Trading Change

Best Album of the Year
Beatenberg – The Hanging Gardens Of Beatenberg
Cassper Nyovest – Tsholofelo
K.O. – Shkanda Republic
Ringo Madlingozi – Vulani
The Soil – Nostalgic Moments

These are unprecedented times, and the role of media to tell and record the story of South Africa as it develops is more important than ever. But it comes at a cost. Advertisers are cancelling campaigns, and our live events have come to an abrupt halt. Our income has been slashed.

The Mail & Guardian is a proud news publisher with roots stretching back 35 years. We’ve survived thanks to the support of our readers, we will need you to help us get through this.

To help us ensure another 35 future years of fiercely independent journalism, please subscribe.

Arts Desk
Guest Author

Judge trashes entire lockdown regime as constitutionally flawed

The high court ruling will delight gatvol South Africans but is unlikely to stand the test of time

Eusebius McKaiser: Two important lessons to learn about racists

The racially intolerant act to keep black people in “their place”, some even while claiming they're allies

press releases

Loading latest Press Releases…

The best local and international journalism

handpicked and in your inbox every weekday