Thoko Didiza confirmed as ANC’s Tshwane mayoral candidate

The ANC has confirmed Thoko Didiza as the party’s mayoral candidate for the City of Tshwane. 

ANC deputy secretary general Jessie Duarte told journalists at Luthuli House on Monday that the decision to select Didiza was unanimously accepted by both the ANC’s provincial and regional structures.

The former public works minister was nominated as Tshwane’s mayoral candidate after the ANC’s special national executive committee, held on Saturday in Irene, rejected the three names initially submitted by Tshwane leaders. ANC secretary general Gwede Mantashe said at the weekend the names submitted were not “good enough” for the mayoral position, with Tshwane deputy ANC chairperson Mapiti Matsena leading the list.

The ANC national executive committee held a meeting with Tshwane leaders on Sunday, where violence erupted, resulting in an ANC member being shot and killed and others sustaining injuries. Duarte said that the party strongly condemned the violence and that those responsible for the attack would be dealt with decisively. 

For the first time since 1994, the ANC will face serious competition from the Democratic Alliance and the Economic Freedom Fighters, both of whom have vowed to give the ANC a run for its money during the upcoming elections on August 3.

Duarte said Didiza, who is also an ANC national executive committee member, was chosen because of her track record as a former Cabinet minister and active party member in the Tshwane region. She also emphasised that the party rejected the names from the Tshwane leaders because “in putting together the three names, the process created factions and further divided the leadership in Tshwane”.

Outgoing Tshwane mayor Sputla Ramakgopa said ANC regional leaders had put their differences aside and would unconditionally support Didiza. He added that he would remain ANC regional chairperson in Tshwane and would stay on as a councillor after the local elections.


Workers fight job-creation ‘mess’

Former Ekurhuleni workers argued in court that a programme promising to equip them with skills simply acted as a labour broker for the municipality

Court dissolves local municipality

Landmark judgment paves the way for South Africans to use legal system to hold councils responsible

Mabuza’s ‘distant relative’ scored big

Eskom’s woes are often because of boiler problems at its power plants. R50-billion has been set aside to fix them, but some of the contracts are going to questionable entities

ANC faction gunning for Gordhan

The ambush will take place at an NEC meeting about Eskom. But the real target is Cyril Ramaphosa

Press Releases

New-style star accretion bursts dazzle astronomers

Associate Professor James O Chibueze and Dr SP van den Heever are part of an international team of astronomers studying the G358-MM1 high-mass protostar.

2020 risk outlook: Use GRC to build resilience

GRC activities can be used profitably to develop an integrated risk picture and response, says ContinuitySA.

MTN voted best mobile network

An independent report found MTN to be the best mobile network in SA in the fourth quarter of 2019.

Is your tertiary institution is accredited?

Rosebank College is an educational brand of The Independent Institute of Education, which is registered with the Department of Higher Education and Training.

Is your tertiary institution accredited?

Rosebank College is an educational brand of The Independent Institute of Education, which is registered with the Department of Higher Education and Training.

VUT chancellor, Dr Xolani Mkhwanazi, dies

The university conferred the degree of Doctor of Science Honoris Causa on Dr Xolani Mkhwanazi for his outstanding leadership contributions to maths and science education development.

Innovate4AMR now in second year

SA's Team pill-Alert aims to tackle antimicrobial resistance by implementing their strategic intervention that ensures patients comply with treatment.

Medical students present solution in Geneva

Kapil Narain and Mohamed Hoosen Suleman were selected to present their strategic intervention to tackle antimicrobial resistance to an international panel of experts.