ANC elects new national working committee

A new national working committee (NWC) of the ANC has been elected at the party’s national executive committee (NEC) meeting this weekend in Irene Centurion.

The list of top 6 leaders and 20 additional members features 11 new changes from the previous NWC and is represented by a higher concentration of members believed to be supporters of ANC president Cyril Ramaphosa.

Ramaphosa’s opponent in the presidential race Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma has been elected to the structure as a new addition, together with North West provincial secretary Dakota Lekgoete and former ANC Youth League deputy president Ronald Lamola.

The changes have seen members such as small business development minister Lindiwe Zulu, finance minister Malusi Gigaba and Chief Whip Jackson Mthembu removed from the NWC.

In line with the party’s requirement that no less than 50% of NWC members are women, the party has elected a total of 12 women onto the structure.

The ANC was heavily criticised after it elected one woman (deputy secretary general Jessie Duarte) in the party’s Top 6 officials. 

The NEC has also officially disbanded the provincial executive committees (PEC) of the Free State and KwaZulu-Natal provinces, which were found by the courts to have been irregularly elected.

Task teams will now be appointed to oversee preparations for fresh elective conferences that must be held in the two provinces.

There has been speculation that, in addition to talks about the economy and organisational unit, the NEC has discussed the possible recall of state president Jacob Zuma. Party insiders say Ramaphosa will lead the negotiations for Zuma to step down.

In its statement released on Saturday morning, the NEC only made mention of a resolution to have “the officials, led by President Ramaphosa, continue their engagement with President Jacob Zuma to ensure effective coordination between the ANC and government”.

NEC members have told the Mail & Guardian that a previous attempt to negotiate a Zuma exit saw him demand the instatement of Dlamini-Zuma as interim president and immunity for state security minister Bongani Bongo as well as energy minister David Mahlobo.

Saturday and Sunday will now be reserved for the convening of a bi-annual lekgotla where alliance partners will also attend to plan for the year ahead.

List of new NWC members:

1. Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma

2. Lindiwe Sisulu

3. Naledi Pandor

4. Jeff Radebe

5. Angie Motshekga

6. Derek Hanekom

7. Edna Molewa

8. Thoko Didiza

9. Nomvula Mokonyane

10. Nathi Mthethwa

11. Ronald Lamola

12. Tina Joemat-Pettersson

13. Dakota Legoete

14. Senzo Mchunu

15. Zizi Kodwa

16. Tony Yengeni

17. Bathabile Dlamini

18. Nomaindia Mfeketo

19. Barbara Creecy

20. Thandi Modise

Keep the powerful accountable

Subscribe for R30/mth for the first three months. Cancel anytime.

Subscribers get access to all our best journalism, subscriber-only newsletters, events and a weekly cryptic crossword.

Dineo Bendile
Dineo Bendile works from Johannesburg. Political reporter. BLACK. Dineo Bendile has over 2712 followers on Twitter.

Related stories


Already a subscriber? Sign in here


Latest stories

St Lucia Lake fisher community say they are not ‘poachers’

KwaNibela residents rely on the fish and reeds they harvest within the protected iSimangaliso Wetland Park. But authorities consider this poaching, threatening the community’s lives and livelihoods.

Seismic surveys on West Coast pose threat to small-scale fishers’...

They are worried about the effect of blasting on the snoek fishery, which is the basis of their income

UK PM Johnson fights back after defection

Wednesday's defection of Conservative Christian Wakeford to Labour served as a reminder of the high stakes at play, with the opposition party surging in opinion polls.

ConCourt clarifies act for asylum seekers

The apex court has reversed amendments to the act that made it difficult for refugees to apply for asylum while making it easy for Home Affairs officials to unjustly detain and deport them.

press releases

Loading latest Press Releases…