Amla, Philander in line for cricketer of the year award

South Africa's Hashim Amla and Vernon Philander have been shortlisted for the International Cricketer of the Year award. (Getty)

South Africa's Hashim Amla and Vernon Philander have been shortlisted for the International Cricketer of the Year award. (Getty)

Australia's Michael Clarke has been selected as captain of the International Cricket Council's Test team of the year and also been shortlisted with Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara for the International Cricketer of the Year award.

All four have been shortlisted for the Test Cricketer of the Year award, while Sangakkara has been nominated along with teammate Lasith Malinga and India's MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli for the ODI player of the year prize.

The shortlists, announced on Thursday, were selected by a 32-member panel featuring media and former players from a period spanning from August 4 2011 until August 6 this year. The winner of the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy will be announced at a ceremony in Colombo on September 15, ahead of the Twenty20 World Cup.

Paceman Dale Steyn was selected in the ICC Test team for the fifth consecutive year, joining fellow South Africans Amla, Philander and Jacques Kallis in the XI. AB de Villiers was named as 12th man.

Clarke, who has led Australia's resurgence in Test cricket since replacing Ricky Ponting as captain last year, was selected to lead the honorary team, which features players from six countries.

Opener Alastair Cook, wicketkeeper Matt Prior and paceman Stuart Broad were selected from England, which recently surrendered the No.
1 Test ranking to South Africa. Sangakkara was selected to bat at No. 3, with West Indies Shivnarine Chanderpaul at No.6, while Pakistan's Saeed Ajmal was chosen as the spin bowler.

Amla, Kallis and Sangakkara have made the ICC Test XI for three consecutive years.

"Those selected can be justifiably proud of their achievements and well deserving of the recognition they receive as great cricketers of their era," ICC chief executive David Richardson said.

Other categories to be decided on September 15 include the best performance in a Twenty20 international – with West Indian Chris Gayle and Sri Lanka's Tillakaratne Dilshan among those nominated – and emerging cricketer of the year. – Sapa-AP

Client Media Releases

No walk-ins at VUT
MTN readies its network for festive season
Cloud still too pricey in SA
Untaken annual leave costs companies cash
NWU specialist receives innovation management award