ANCWL votes for change, elects Dlamini as President

Bathabile Dlamini is the new ANCWL president. (Delwyn Verasamy, MG)

Bathabile Dlamini is the new ANCWL president. (Delwyn Verasamy, MG)

In a sign of no confidence for the former leadership, delegates to the ANC Women’s League conference have voted for a complete overhaul of the top leadership as the league grapples with staying relevant. 

The once longest serving secretary general of the ANCWL is now the president of the league, claiming a majority vote in the early hours of Saturday morning. 

Bathabile Dlamini triumphed over the incumbent Angie Motshekga with 1 537 votes to 1 081 in the league’s national elective conference being held in Irene, Pretoria. This is the second time Dlamini has contested the ANCWL presidency

The results are an indication that the league’s members opted for change in leadership as the way to take it forward. 

Dlamini who serves as social development minister would now have to work hard in rebuilding the league to its former glory. 

In the past few years, many critics and commentators have singled out the league of being mere praise singers for President Jacob Zuma. 

Delegates at the conference who campaigned for Dlamini said the league needed new blood after the conference was delayed for more than two years. 

Since the conference was officially opened on Thursday morning, it was difficult to call who had won the favour of most delegates. 

By Friday afternoon, it became clear that Dlamini had popular support. 

The other top four positions in the league also received a shake up. 

Sisi Ntombela, the MEC for social development in the Free State, was elected as deputy president of the league unopposed, replacing Nosipho Ntwanambi.

A relatively unknown Meokgo Matuba from North West province triumphed over the incumbent Sisi Tolashe as secretary general. 

Weziwe Tikana would be Matuba’s deputy replacing Mpai Mogorosi. 

International relations minister Maite Nkoana-Mashabane has been elected as the treasurer of the league replacing Hlengiwe Mkhize.

She was up against Environmental Affairs Minister Edna Molewa’s and won with 1 521 votes to 1 078 votes.