EFF top six: ‘Amatorokisi’ victorious



All leadership positions up for grabs at the Economic Freedom Fighters’ second elective conference were uncontested, meaning Julius Malema and Floyd Shivambu will retain their positions as president and deputy president respectively.

On the second day of the EFF’s National People’s Assembly on Saturday, the so-called Amatorokisi faction emerged victorious, with its touted slate securing all top six positions.

Malema’s nomination to continue leading the EFF was supported by the large majority of the 4 000 delegates attending the second-day of the party’s second policy and elective conference in Johannesburg on Saturday.

No other nominations for EFF president were made.

Shivambu, however, faced small pockets of dissent, who nominated the party’s current national chairperson, Dali Mpofu, to contest the position of deputy president.

Mpofu accepted the nomination, but not enough delegates put up their hands to show their support. According to the EFF’s constitution, a nominee can only cross the threshold once they have received support from 30% of the delegates.

Shivambu’s uncontested nomination put to rest any hopes of a face-off between him and another burgeoning faction within the party.

In the run-up to the elective conference, two factions were said to be going head-to-head.

The Amatorokisi faction was reportedly backing a slate including Malema as president and Shivambu as his deputy. The proposed slate put up EFF MPs Marshall Dlamini and Veronica Mente as secretary general and national chairperson respectively.

It also put forward senior party members Poppy Mailola as deputy secretary general and Omphile Maotwe as treasurer general.

All those said to be part of the Amatorokisi slate were nominated uncontested, despite nominations emanating from a competing slate.

The rival faction nominated Mandisa Mashego to go up against Dlamini. It also nominated Hlengiwe Mkhaliphi to retain her position as deputy secretary general.

Mkhaliphi declined her nomination, while Mashego failed to garner enough support from the delegates.

With all nominations uncontested, no voting was necessary on Saturday night.

Sarah Smit
Sarah Smit
Sarah Smit is a general news reporter at the Mail & Guardian. She covers topics relating to labour, corruption and the law.

Senior SANDF colonel involved in an alleged business scam

A senior soldier who is part of South Africa’s peacekeeping missions is accused by her colleagues of swindling them out of of hundreds of thousands of rands in a nonexistent business deal

AU pushes the frontiers of transitional justice

Now these important policy developments must be implemented

Mass store and job cuts at Massmart

Changed market conditions and an appalling economy has hit low end cash-and-carry outlets

Courts to guide land expropriation

Two bits of law need to be approved before a court can decide if land owners will be compensated

Press Releases

New-style star accretion bursts dazzle astronomers

Associate Professor James O Chibueze and Dr SP van den Heever are part of an international team of astronomers studying the G358-MM1 high-mass protostar.

2020 risk outlook: Use GRC to build resilience

GRC activities can be used profitably to develop an integrated risk picture and response, says ContinuitySA.

MTN voted best mobile network

An independent report found MTN to be the best mobile network in SA in the fourth quarter of 2019.

Is your tertiary institution is accredited?

Rosebank College is an educational brand of The Independent Institute of Education, which is registered with the Department of Higher Education and Training.

Is your tertiary institution accredited?

Rosebank College is an educational brand of The Independent Institute of Education, which is registered with the Department of Higher Education and Training.

VUT chancellor, Dr Xolani Mkhwanazi, dies

The university conferred the degree of Doctor of Science Honoris Causa on Dr Xolani Mkhwanazi for his outstanding leadership contributions to maths and science education development.

Innovate4AMR now in second year

SA's Team pill-Alert aims to tackle antimicrobial resistance by implementing their strategic intervention that ensures patients comply with treatment.

Medical students present solution in Geneva

Kapil Narain and Mohamed Hoosen Suleman were selected to present their strategic intervention to tackle antimicrobial resistance to an international panel of experts.