Rwandan ex-mayor appeals genocide verdict

OWN CORRESPONDENT, Arusha | Thursday 7.30pm.

THE former mayor of the Rwandan Taba commune during the 1994 genocide has appealed his conviction of crimes against humanity by the Untited Nations International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, sitting in Arusha, Tanzania. The UN tribunal convicted 45-year-old Jean-Paul Akayesu of nine counts of genocide and crimes against humanity, including incitement to torture, rape, and kill, on September 2 after a 15-month trial.

Akayesu is to be sentenced on Friday. The prosecution has requested a life sentence, the maximum the tribunal can hand down.

A former Prime Minister of Rwanda, Jean Kambanda, who pleaded guilty to genocide before the tribunal, recieved a life sentence earlier this month. He has appealed, saying the sentence is too harsh and does not take into account his plea.

Akayesu, who pleaded not guilty to all charges, filed his appeal on September 28 through Candanian lawyer John Philippot, who argued that Akayesu, who conducted his own sentencing arguments after falling out with two court-appointed defence counsels, was victim of a denial of due process because he had been unable to engage a lawyer of his choice.

He also contested the impartiality of the tribunal, saying that both sides in the civil war had committed crimes.

Meanwhile the UN Security Council has nominated 18 judges for the tribunal at Arusha. The list has been forwarded the list to the General Assembly for election to the three trial chambers.

In a resolution unanimously adopted on Wednesday, the council forwarded the names of Eugene Liliane (Madagascar), Pavel Dolenc (Slovenia), Salifou Fomba (Mali) and Willy C. Gaa (Philippines). It also selected Asoka de Gunawardena (Sri Lanka) Mehmet Guney (Turkey), Edoukou Jean-Baptiste Kaplan (Cote D’Ivoire), Laity Kama (Senegal), Dionysios Kondylis (Greece) and Bouba Mahamane (Niger). Other candidates are Erik Mose (Norway), Yakov Ostrovsky (Russia), Cheick Dimkinsedo Ouedraogo (Burkina Faso), Navanethem Pillay (South Africa), Indira Rana (Nepal), William Sekule (Tanzania), Tilahun Teshome (Ethiopia) and Lloyd George Williams (Jamaica and St Kitts and Nevis).

Four of the 18 candidates shortlisted are among the six serving members of the tribunal. From the shortlist, the assembly is expected to elect nine. Elected judges are to serve a tenure of four years.


Link to the day

30 29 28 27 25 24 23 22 21 20 18 17 16

15 14 13 11 10 09 08 07 06 04 03 02 01


We make it make sense

If this story helped you navigate your world, subscribe to the M&G today for just R30 for the first three months

Subscribers get access to all our best journalism, subscriber-only newsletters, events and a weekly cryptic crossword.”

Related stories


Already a subscriber? Sign in here


Latest stories

We are not disposable, say healthcare workers

The Gauteng health department’s budget has been slashed in half, resulting in nurses who worked through the pandemic sitting at home while 10 000 posts are vacant

Clouds gathering as Safa approaches presidential elections

There are some members of the body’s national executive committee who are backing the re-election of Jordaan as the Safa president unopposed.

Experience Africa in Johannesburg, Durban and Cape Town

If you had the opportunity to explore South Africa, to really see it, be confused by it, fall in love with the good, bad...

South African Federation of Trade Unions membership numbers decline

Saftu general secretary Zwelinzima Vavi says the dwindling numbers are a result of the economic crisis and other factors

press releases

Loading latest Press Releases…