/ 20 December 2022

Angie Motshekga (Grade C+)

Top Achievers
Minister of Basic Education Angie Motshekga. (Photo: Papi Morake)

Basic Education

Key Goals

  1. Make up for time lost during the Covid-19 pandemic: Progress
  2. Transfer early childhood development from the department of social development to education: Completed
  3. Provide schools with information and communications technology (ICT) devices as well as internet access to ensure learners are prepared for the fourth industrial revolution: Failed
  4. Complete an integrated infrastructure development plan, informed by infrastructure delivery and regular maintenance: Progress


The 2022 academic year was the first in two years that went ahead without any Covid-19 disruptions. 

The department’s reports show it might take eight years to recover the learning time lost during the pandemic. 

In January, Motshekga laid down a recovery plan for the education system, including trimming down the curriculum, offering psychosocial support to learners and teachers, increasing creative and problem-solving skills, boosting teacher skills and professionalism and introducing an alternative assessment protocol.

Motshekga said rehabilitating the education system would be the delivery of e-education and ICT resources to schools.  

But the roll-out of ICT equipment to schools has been slow. It noted the need for stronger communication with the department of communications and digital technologies. 

The migration of early childhood development (ECD) centres to the social development department has been completed. The department has identified five areas to be addressed to improve the quality of ECD.

The department found that because of the pandemic infrastructure and maintenance of schools accelerated.

The department received an unqualified audit, and achieved 81% of its targets.


Click on a minister
Cyril Ramaphosa
David Mabuza
Maite Nkoana-Mashabane
Fikile Mbalula
Angie Motshekga
Aaron Motsoaledi
Nathi Mthethwa
Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
Mmamoloko Kubayi
Thandi Ruth Modise
Khumbudzo Ntshavheni
Ebrahim Patel
Naledi Pandor
Mathume Joseph Phaahla
Pravin Gordhan
Senzo Mchunu
Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams
Lindiwe Sisulu
Thokozile Didiza
Lindiwe Zulu
Patricia DeLille
Ronald Lamola
Barbara Creecy
Bheki Cele
Blade Nzimande
Mondli Gungubele
Enoch Godongwana
Gwede Mantashe
Thulas Nxesi
(Public Service and Administration)
Thulas Nxesi
(Employment and Labour)