/ 20 December 2022

Ebrahim Patel (Grade C)

Minister of Trade, Industry and Competition Ebrahim Patel, speaking at last year’s investment conference at Sandton Convention Centre.

Trade, industry and competition

Key Goals

  1. Unlock at least R120 billion in investment from the private sector in the next 12 months through investment facilitation and promotion activities: Partially achieved
  2. Table draft Green Hydrogen Commercialisation Strategy: Achieved
  3. Build an enabling environment for industrialisation: Partially achieved
  4. Introduce a revised approach to spatial industrial policy, with a cross-cutting framework for special economic zones and industrial parks: Achieved


Armed with a budget of more than R9 billion for the 2022-23 financial year, Patel had great ideas. These ranged from green industrialisation through the green hydrogen and electric vehicle roadmaps to “de-concentrate” the economy and opening up product and service markets for all.

The minister achieved some of the objectives he set out in his budget vote, such as successfully launching the inquiry into fresh produce markets, which was aimed at providing insights and relief to consumers faced with high and rising food prices.

According to Statistics South Africa, annual food inflation stood at 7.6% in October. 

His department also developed and tabled a draft policy on scrap metal, which addresses illegal trade.

Patel missed his deadline in tabling the draft Green Hydrogen Commercialisation Strategy, which was due at the end of August but did publish it for comment on 1 December. 

Green hydrogen is one of the ways South Africa is pursuing to shift away from fossil fuels. 

Patel was slow-footed about decisions regarding customs duties and tariffs. As a result, bottlenecks created in the trade industry and billions of rand were lost for the fiscus.


Click on a minister
Cyril Ramaphosa
David Mabuza
Maite Nkoana-Mashabane
Fikile Mbalula
Angie Motshekga
Aaron Motsoaledi
Nathi Mthethwa
Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
Mmamoloko Kubayi
Thandi Ruth Modise
Khumbudzo Ntshavheni
Ebrahim Patel
Naledi Pandor
Mathume Joseph Phaahla
Pravin Gordhan
Senzo Mchunu
Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams
Lindiwe Sisulu
Thokozile Didiza
Lindiwe Zulu
Patricia DeLille
Ronald Lamola
Barbara Creecy
Bheki Cele
Blade Nzimande
Mondli Gungubele
Enoch Godongwana
Gwede Mantashe
Thulas Nxesi
(Public Service and Administration)
Thulas Nxesi
(Employment and Labour)