/ 13 December 2022

Lindiwe Sisulu (Grade F)

Tourism Minister Lindiwe Sisulu will likely be top of the list of those who will get the chop.

Department of Tourism

Key Goals

  1. Target 2 500 youth for skills development programmes: Failed
  2.  Establish destination planning projects with provinces and local municipalities for some of the most economically depressed areas in the country, as well as those least serviced and visited: Failed
  3. Get local government to designate resources to enable proper coordination of tourism: Failed


Lindiwe Sisulu has spent 16 months in the tourism portfolio after tanking in the human settlements, water and sanitation portfolio.

Some of the objectives in her new position included her upskilling 2 500 youth in skills development programmes. At the time of her budget vote in May the minister said there were 962 learners enrolled in various skills development programmes. This is a crucial goal that has not been achieved, given that the unemployment rate is 32.9%. 

Sisulu said she would establish destination planning projects in support of and in collaboration with provinces and local municipalities. One of these projects was the Eastern Cape’s Wild Coast. The master plan was reported to be in its final stages more than a year ago and no progress has been made since.  

The budget allocation for Sisulu’s department was R2.4 billion for the 2022-23 financial year. 

The department of tourism was given this amount by the treasury to promote and support the growth and development of a sustainable tourism sector. It does not seem as if Sisulu has succeeded in this as one of her major programmes this year was her unsuccessful visit to a convicted fraudster, John Block, the ANC’s former Northern Cape chairperson. 

Minister Says

To date, a total number of 1 357 learners were enrolled in the programme. Processes are currently underway to increase the number of learners during Q3 and Q4 to reach the targeted annual number of 2 500.


Click on a minister
Cyril Ramaphosa
David Mabuza
Maite Nkoana-Mashabane
Fikile Mbalula
Angie Motshekga
Aaron Motsoaledi
Nathi Mthethwa
Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
Mmamoloko Kubayi
Thandi Ruth Modise
Khumbudzo Ntshavheni
Ebrahim Patel
Naledi Pandor
Mathume Joseph Phaahla
Pravin Gordhan
Senzo Mchunu
Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams
Lindiwe Sisulu
Thokozile Didiza
Lindiwe Zulu
Patricia DeLille
Ronald Lamola
Barbara Creecy
Bheki Cele
Blade Nzimande
Mondli Gungubele
Enoch Godongwana
Gwede Mantashe
Thulas Nxesi
(Public Service and Administration)
Thulas Nxesi
(Employment and Labour)