/ 20 December 2022

Thokozile Didiza (Grade C-)

Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development Minister Thoko Didiza has finally appointed a full nine-member Ingonyama Trust Board, which will be headed by King Misuzulu ka Zwelithini’s nominee, Thanduyise Mzimela.


Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development

Key Goals

  1. Establish the Agriculture and Agro-processing Master Plan: In progress
  2. Improve food security: In progress
  3. Mitigate and prevent outbreaks of disease. In progress


Didiza’s 21-day nationwide ban on the movement of cattle in response to the outbreak of foot-and-mouth disease cost more than R700 million, and affected 35 000 workers and 4 500 seasonal workers. 

The ban was necessary but there was no recovery plan, with industry experts saying the department should have accelerated the vaccination and containment of disease before cases got worse.

The country still grapples with a locust outbreak in some provinces, with more than R80 million spent on a locust control programme. An official said the outbreak is under control.

In May, Didiza signed the much anticipated Agriculture and Agro-processing Master Plan to improve food security and agriculture practices and assist farmers. 

Didiza launched a R3.2 billion blended finance scheme with the Land Bank to assist farmers. The programme is to be implemented over 10 years. Financing will be a combination of loans and grants. The plan is in progress to ensure growth, food security, development and job creation. 

Agriculture saw a win in the first quarter of 2022, when agriculture and agro-processing exports amounted to R51 billion. In the second half of the year, South Africa’s exports rose by 5% year on year.


Click on a minister
Cyril Ramaphosa
David Mabuza
Maite Nkoana-Mashabane
Fikile Mbalula
Angie Motshekga
Aaron Motsoaledi
Nathi Mthethwa
Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
Mmamoloko Kubayi
Thandi Ruth Modise
Khumbudzo Ntshavheni
Ebrahim Patel
Naledi Pandor
Mathume Joseph Phaahla
Pravin Gordhan
Senzo Mchunu
Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams
Lindiwe Sisulu
Thokozile Didiza
Lindiwe Zulu
Patricia DeLille
Ronald Lamola
Barbara Creecy
Bheki Cele
Blade Nzimande
Mondli Gungubele
Enoch Godongwana
Gwede Mantashe
Thulas Nxesi
(Public Service and Administration)
Thulas Nxesi
(Employment and Labour)